325is Radio Problems - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2006, 05:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
j3k
n00b
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Car:
Posts: 2
Photos:
j3k is on a distinguished road
325is Radio Problems

My 1994 325is radio died this weekend. The head unit still turns on, controls the changer but no sound at all comes out of the speaker. I tried changing the head unit, still having the same problem, radio seems to work, but no sound comes out. I changed the 2 fuses for the radio, still no sound.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks in advance!
j3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-21-2006, 12:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
ex owner/admin
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto-Canada
Car: turbo e36 325/s50 and e46 330xi
Posts: 10,839
Photos:
Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious
Send a message via AIM to Furious
i assume you put the radio code in right to get it working?
__________________
Furious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 02:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
General Chaos
 
SpeedInfusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Plano, TX
Car: ///M3,Corolla
Posts: 13,803
Photos:
SpeedInfusion has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to SpeedInfusion
did u change it to a stock headunit? or aftermarket?
__________________
SpeedInfusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 05:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Car: Its slow, gotta M20 in it
Posts: 4,840
Photos:
da_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
With the age of the car, my first thought is the amplifier, since neither radio produce sound. Check in the drivers rear of the trunk area for an amplifier. It should be behind the carpeted panels. I also would like to know if the new one is stock or aftermarket.
__________________


-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 06:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
j3k
n00b
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Car:
Posts: 2
Photos:
j3k is on a distinguished road
The radio code is working fine. The new unit is aftermarket (pioneer). I'll check the amps, thanks for the suggestion.
j3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 12:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
General Chaos
 
SpeedInfusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Plano, TX
Car: ///M3,Corolla
Posts: 13,803
Photos:
SpeedInfusion has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to SpeedInfusion
Quote:
Originally Posted by j3k
The radio code is working fine. The new unit is aftermarket (pioneer). I'll check the amps, thanks for the suggestion.
yea sounds like the amp, with the new headunit u dont need a code....
__________________
SpeedInfusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2006, 11:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
Wonderboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Beaverton Or
Car: 98 M3 Sedan
Posts: 452
Photos:
Wonderboy is on a distinguished road
It sound s like the amp went bad. my advice is go to a local car audio shop and swing around back to the install bay. Tell the guy you want to bypass the stock amp in the car. Usually they will charge anywhere from 35-50 dollars. but to be honest it won't sound the same. you will brobably want to get a 4ch amp. I recommend a diamond D3 300.4. 50 watts X 4ch of really clean power. let me know how it goes. I worked in the car audio area for 2yrs.
Wonderboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Idle Problems '95 325is Burnettm 3-Series (E36) 3 04-26-2005 12:41 PM
Radio Problems On 5series Model 2004 suske66 Audio and Electronics 1 02-05-2005 10:26 PM
'04 525 Radio Problems BMarcW 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 2 11-11-2004 07:22 AM
94 325is Problems sre2114 3-Series (E36) 23 10-21-2004 04:27 PM
Aftermarket Radio Install Problems blk325is Audio and Electronics 9 05-02-2004 11:46 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.