1995 740i AMP-Battery dead - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 01-26-2009, 09:31 AM
n00b
 
slimmerkitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
slimmerkitty is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Unhappy 1995 740i AMP-Battery dead

Here is the problem my 1995 740i that I just bought had a after market amp hooked up to the factory amp, (all messed up) anyway I rewired back the way it was suppose to be the problem is i touched wires to the aftermarket amp to speaker wires and the factory amp statted to smell like it was burnt. Only the tweeters worked last night and now this morning the car battery is dead and wont start. What should I do?
slimmerkitty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 01-26-2009, 08:18 PM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
yup sounds like the factory amp is toast. Headunit power usually runs the tweeters and an amp to the mids. Unhook all the power wires to the aftermarket amp and see if the battery will take a charge. If it does, redo the aftermarket amps wires correctly. I am thinking the way it was wired, it was staying on all the time, running the battery down.



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 01-27-2009, 08:12 AM
n00b
 
slimmerkitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
slimmerkitty is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Unhappy Dead battery

I unhooked the aftermarket amp and the battery is staying charged now but there is no sound coming out anywhere. I rewired the amp back to the way it was suppose to but it drained the battery and started to smell like it was burning. So I unhooked it again.And the battery is fine but the radio is on just no sound. Oh this is an aftermarket cd player that is installed,with the wire harness from the factory radio. The pixels in the factory radio are all not lighting up so they unhooked it. Anyway Can I install an aftermarket amp where the factory amp was? What should I do? How should I do it?

Last edited by slimmerkitty; 01-27-2009 at 08:17 AM.
slimmerkitty is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 01-27-2009, 07:47 PM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
If youve got a decent radio with a fair amount of power, I'd bypass all the factory stuff and let the headunit run all the factory speakers. You're kind of at that point. The factory amp really doesnt put out much power. A decent aftermarket radio puts out as much power and simpler to make work. Your headunit probably isnt turning on the factory amp. There is a factory white wire that needs power whenever the radio is turned on (blue/white on most radios).



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 01-28-2009, 08:53 AM
n00b
 
slimmerkitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
slimmerkitty is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Cool amp

Can you tell me how to bypass the amp? Do i unplug the factory amp at both ends and splice into the wires by color codeing?
slimmerkitty is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 01-28-2009, 06:37 PM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
I answered your PM, but here it is for someone else might need the info:

The easiest way is to run new wires from the headunit to the factory amp and use the output (to the speaker) side wires to run into the doors, etc. Its kind of a pain, but if you are keeping the car, I'd go ahead and do it once and you wont have to do it again.



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 01-29-2009, 04:37 AM
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
marti5 is on a distinguished road
Try this:

Board Message

VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!
marti5 is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 01-29-2009, 07:52 AM
n00b
 
slimmerkitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
slimmerkitty is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
I am going to try it later today, I hope it works. I know my factory amp is fried I am all most certain of that. So i wanted to bypass it and take it out all together, but if I have to I will try to hook up the aftermarket amp I have. Do you know how to bypass the amp with out hooking a aftermarket amp up?
slimmerkitty is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 01-29-2009, 10:57 AM
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
marti5 is on a distinguished road
No, fraid not, best person to speak to would be an audio auto technician.

VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!
marti5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
battery dead cant get trunk open to jump the battery bluee39 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 4 04-09-2006 09:24 PM
Dead Battery Rowdyman 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 4 04-15-2005 08:08 PM
Looking For 1995 740i Carpet & Audio/video Options gezzuzz 1,6,7,8 - Series and Mini Cooper 0 03-10-2005 12:42 PM
Dead Battery nudnick 3-Series (E36) 3 01-12-2005 08:26 AM
Dead Battery BlackTape 3-Series (E36) 25 05-26-2003 10:31 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome