BMW Werkz banner

Engine swap?

3K views 16 replies 8 participants last post by  billy3258 
#1 ·
Ok, so I have a 95 318i conv. and have payments on it for the next 18months. I'm just a poor college student so couldnt buy her out right but I am not use to having a car that doesnt require constant attention (always drove 70s vw's before this) I really want to buy a beatin crappy engine and rebuild it from the ground up and do the swap just before or right after my final payment. My problem is this is my first bmw and I don't know what engine/engines I should be concidering. I have all the time in the world so finding the engine in my price range is not the issue, just which one should I be looking for? Should I stick with bmw engines of the same year? same size? or is there some mystic engine of the far east I should be hunting? Any ideas or rants are more than welcome.

P.S. i'm missing my drivers side fog glass. Willing to trade the 6 disc and all brackets in the trunk for it or a new set of fogs. (doesnt have the cassete though.)

#2 ·
to me it would depend on how much money you want to throw into the project...

if you don't mind taking a long time and putting a lot of money into the car...i would say the S50 from the M3.

if you don't want to spend too much, you may consider taking an engine from a 320 or a 325...

...just my 2 cents.

#3 ·
Your 2 cents goes further than no cents. Yeah time isn't really an issue and with the time comes money. The idea is to buy an engine no one expects to ever see suck, bang, squeeze, bang, or blow ever again and put it on an engine stand for the next how ever long it takes. Forcing me to upgrade the more expensive parts.

How does the mounting work from year to year, model to model? If I do find a M3 engine will it swap fairly easy? same goes for the 2.5 engine? I assume it's just a matter of engine mounts but I know how germans love to weasel a 3 inch square in a two inch circle from my previous volkswagen projects.