BMW Werkz banner

Tuning Up a diesel engine

3K views 8 replies 2 participants last post by  german-speed-demon 
#1 ·
hey guys,
I'm brandnew overhere and I'm not (yet) a BMW driver so i don't know so much about the car that's why i have some questions. I'm also in the tractorpulling bussines so i've got some experience with diesels.
I meaby want to build a soupped up bmw diesel but i cant find any information what so ever on the dutch forumsites of bmw. I don't know if one of you guys have some information on what i better can not do with the engine and what i could do. And which car with what kind of engine i could better buy (if the e30 has different engines..)
I wan't to make the engine as much bullitproof as possible. Thinks i have in mind is to lose the gasket and machine some fireproof rings in the head, bigger turbo, meaby Bosch A pomp, modified injectors, different gearbox if the standard one is to weak. I'm would like to get 250-300hp if the engine would let this. Thinks i don't know is how the engine is build up is it strong, does it hold a lot of torque, how's the crank? how are the heads?
Thanks for the information

By the way, i'm dutch my self so i'm sorry if my english is bad.
Greetings,
Meindert

See less See more
#2 ·
hey whats up Meindert...ummm for the most part BMW didn't really import many diesels to the states, however they did have a contract with Lincoln/Ford Motor Company to supply the i-6 diesel for use in the Lincoln Continentals, back in 84-85, and that was the m21, a 2.4 liter used also in the...

Compliment of Wikipedia...
1986-1992 E28 524d/524td
1987-1993 E30 324d/324td
1987-1992 E34 524td
Again, greetings and welcome!

#3 ·
hey,
I see that on this site there are more people of the otherside of the ocean.. I know that there aren't much diesel's. On the sites in Germany and Holland i can't get much information. The can only give me information if you want to chiptune your car, but you can't find anything about really tuning a diesel.