BMW Werkz banner

Newbie, BMW or Porsche?

2K views 19 replies 11 participants last post by  ///M Power 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello everyone,

I know they are not in the same ballpark, but for my next car I am considering a 335 convertible or a Porsche Cayman. I am looking for something to either replace my G35 sedan or my 06 MX-5 and was curious about ownership expenses and reliability.

thanks for your time

Roland

#2 ·
RolandG said:
Hello everyone,

I know they are not in the same ballpark, but for my next car I am considering a 335 convertible or a Porsche Cayman. I am looking for something to either replace my G35 sedan or my 06 MX-5 and was curious about ownership expenses and reliability.

thanks for your time

Roland
Well let me say i'm not a porsche expert, but I'm pretty sure that porsche's are more expensive than even bmw as far as maintenance. As long as you take care of the car they should be fairly even as far as reliability. But here you go.

porsche

Manual Tiptronic S
Engine Layout Mid-engine Engine Layout Mid-engine
Displacement 3.4 l Displacement 3.4 l
Horsepower 295 hp Horsepower 295 hp @ rpm 6,250
@ rpm 6,250 251 lb.-ft. @ rpm 4,400 - 6,000
Torque 251 lb.-ft. Compression ratio 11.1 : 1
@ rpm 4,400 - 6,000 Top Track Speed 166 mph
Compression ratio 11.1 : 1 0-60 mph 5.8 s 0-60 mph 5.1 s MSRP $ 62,310 Top Track Speed 171 mph
MSRP $ 59,100.00

Bmw 335i Convertible

Weight
Unladen 3946 (3957) lbs

Weight distribution, front/rear - Manual transmission 51.2/48.8 %

Weight distribution, front/rear - Automatic transmission 51.4/48.6 %

Engine
Liter/type/valves per cylinder Turbocharged 3.0/inline 6/4

Bore/stroke 3.31/3.53 inch

Nominal output/rpm 300/5800 hp

Max. torque/rpm 300/1400-5000 lb-ft

Compression ratio 10.2 :1

Fuel grade unleaded premium

Transmission
Manual gear ratios - I/II 4.06/2.40 :1

Manual gear ratios - III/IV 1.58/1.19 :1

Manual gear ratios - V/VI/R 1.00/0.87/3.68 :1

Final drive ratio 3.08 :1

Automatic gear ratio - I/II 4.17/2.34 :1