BMW Werkz banner

Planned upgrades for E39 540i...input requested

6K views 21 replies 8 participants last post by  first5ny 
#1 ·
I've had my 1997 540i for a few weeks now (pic from delivery below), and it's everything I thought it would be :D ...well, almost, which is why I plan a few visual upgrades. I would like your input.

I'm getting the windows tinted 35% all around (except windshield of course) in a couple weeks. After that, there's several things I want to do: clear fronts, sidemarkers, and Celis taillights, and 18" M-Parallel wheels.

Here's my dilemma: it will likely be August or later before I'm ready to do the wheels (first, because I'm not willing to toss my current tires yet, and second, because I'm a college student and I need to save up the internship money this summer before I can afford $1500 for new wheels and tires), but the lights will only cost about $400, so I could do those just about anytime. What I wonder, though, is will the clear lights look OK with the stock wheels (which I hate)? I'm having trouble envisioning that look -- clears with stock wheels and tint -- and I'm not sure if it would look good or not.

Please tell me what you think I should do. On a side note, do you think anyone would buy my stock wheels?

Thanks!

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
The clears will look fine with your stock wheels. I kinda likem.

As far as selling them, all you can do is try.

You might want to keep them so when you sell the car you can include them in the sale.

#3 ·
Thanks Silver.

Yeah, it doesn't look like the wheels I have go for hardly anything, so I may keep them. One thing about my new wheels, is that I'm a little uneasy about buying replicas...most people haven't had any problems at all, but a few have horror stories of replica rims bending a lot, or even cracking, since they are cast rather than forged. I don't think I could afford the $2000+ for real forged rims though. Anyone have experience/opinions on this?