M5 Cluster in a 540i, will it work? - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) Chat relating to the BMW 5-Series of all generations. Specific models include: BMW 518, BMW 520, BMW 520i, BMW 530i, BMW 528i, BMW 530i, BMW 518i, BMW 524d, BMW 525i, BMW 525e, BMW 528e, BMW 540i, BMW 535i, BMW 520d, BMW 525td, BMW 525d, BMW 530d, BMW 525i/xi, BMW 530i/xi. (BMW 5-Series Forum)

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2005, 12:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
///Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Car:
Posts: 555
Photos:
///Matt is an unknown quantity at this point
Post M5 Cluster in a 540i, will it work?

I've been looking at putting an M5 cluster in my 97 540...I know it will physically fit, but will it work?...I figure I'll have to get it coded by my BMW dealer, but was unsure if the connections even were the same, and whether or not all the components would work...

ANY help would be appreciated...

The cluster I'm considering buying is here...
Instrument Cluster
///Matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-11-2005, 12:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Saint Louis
Car:
Posts: 6
Photos:
AntonioDestiny is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to AntonioDestiny
Im not to sure Matt but good luck on that project and keep me updated
AntonioDestiny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 09:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
dyami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: So Cal
Car:
Posts: 122
Photos:
dyami is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to dyami
no reason why the connections would be different. im sure it will work. just that u might run into problems coding it correctly. why change it to the M5 cluster? can i see a pic? i never noticed a difference visually.
dyami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 05:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Car: Its slow, gotta M20 in it
Posts: 4,840
Photos:
da_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
i would think the tach and/or the speedo would be slightly different (redline on tach, etc.), but i've never looked at both
__________________


-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 08:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Car:
Posts: 1,176
Photos:
sp0rky is an unknown quantity at this point
no.

some connectors are different and the m5 has oil temp rather than real-time mpg so that will never work properly.
Also yes - the redlines are different - so theres another problem.

People have done it, but in th end not all of the functions work properly and it costs more than it's worth.

just paint the needles red and the faces grey?? lol
__________________
sp0rky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2005, 10:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
///Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Car:
Posts: 555
Photos:
///Matt is an unknown quantity at this point
Ok, Thanks Sp0rky, that hit the nail right on the head. The one issue I kept thinking about was the oil temp gauge...I poked around in my cluster and it displayed "OIL TEMP --C" I wasn't sure it that would have been an issue, now I know for sure. Thanks to all...
///Matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
540i Cats Replaced...more Repair Work To Come mrogers 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 4 06-07-2005 06:53 AM
E39 540i 1996 Instrument Cluster Change meditek 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 5 04-18-2005 04:25 PM
Vin Number skimmilk 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 1 12-16-2004 05:07 PM
VIN CHECK wax Bimmer Talk/Motorsports Talk 3 07-11-2004 05:34 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.