Instrument panel withe different scales - e39, 530-2002 - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) Chat relating to the BMW 5-Series of all generations. Specific models include: BMW 518, BMW 520, BMW 520i, BMW 530i, BMW 528i, BMW 530i, BMW 518i, BMW 524d, BMW 525i, BMW 525e, BMW 528e, BMW 540i, BMW 535i, BMW 520d, BMW 525td, BMW 525d, BMW 530d, BMW 525i/xi, BMW 530i/xi. (BMW 5-Series Forum)

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 02-04-2009, 11:33 PM
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UAE - Gulf Area
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
rashid is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Instrument panel withe different scales - e39, 530-2002

I got a used instrument panel but with japan specifications. the fuel scale starts from 20-40-60-Max rather than 15-30-50-max in my existing one. is it ok or there might be any problem?
rashid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 02-05-2009, 12:46 AM
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UAE - Gulf Area
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
rashid is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Further, any programming required to install the new one?
rashid is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 02-05-2009, 01:04 AM
OMFG another one!?
 
witeshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 14,701
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice
Both fuel scales look like litres with different fuel tank sizes to me.

BMW

Sig by zeaq
witeshark is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 02-10-2009, 12:20 AM
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UAE - Gulf Area
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
rashid is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Installed the instrument panel but the milage shwon is totally different from the actual milage of my car!!!

what to do?
rashid is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 02-10-2009, 01:04 AM
OMFG another one!?
 
witeshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 14,701
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice
The memory on the circuit board needs to be updated to your car.

BMW

Sig by zeaq
witeshark is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 02-11-2009, 05:53 AM
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UAE - Gulf Area
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
rashid is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Also when the tank is full, the meter is not!!!
rashid is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 02-18-2009, 02:33 AM
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UAE - Gulf Area
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
rashid is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Finally got the right cluster with the right scale.

pixles are ok except to vertical lines in the information display.

but the milage is different!!! it is much lower!!!

any advise...
rashid is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 02-26-2009, 03:45 AM
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UAE - Gulf Area
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
rashid is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Further ...

The new cluster is better than the old one but sometimes few pixels are shady.

Technician told that he can repair it @ $140 including the spare part!! is that possible & what kind of spare part he can change????????
rashid is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 02-26-2009, 06:37 AM
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
marti5 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by rashid View Post
Further ...

The new cluster is better than the old one but sometimes few pixels are shady.

Technician told that he can repair it @ $140 including the spare part!! is that possible & what kind of spare part he can change????????
Yes, the above is possible, I did my own:

PIXEL FIX DIY write up, about a 2 hour job and some patience (Long pic warning)

The spare part is the pink strip, I just turn mine around and put a strip of plastic behind it to get the pressure, my pixels have been fine for 18 months now, I have also done my mates 5 series cluster and it works graet not one dead pixel anywhere.

VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!

Last edited by marti5; 02-26-2009 at 06:39 AM.
marti5 is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 02-26-2009, 10:04 PM
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UAE - Gulf Area
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
rashid is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
your advices always useful ..

the cluster shown in the link is different from mine but I can try on the old one.

Another problem I had, the frame broken & i have to replace. Got the new one but can not remove the light switches available on both sides, from the old one & I am not stuck with this now.
rashid is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 03-01-2009, 02:55 AM
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UAE - Gulf Area
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
rashid is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Manged to re-install the farme with the help from someone ... thanks.

Actually I have started repairing my car by my self & I am learning from you guys in this useful forum. I know sometimes I am coming with number of problems at the same time & I would appreciate if you all tolerate.

Now & after being a member for few weeks, I am progressing & I did few things by myself. Changed the cluster / frame, changed the radio controller & tail light, repaired the plastic side covers of the front seats, & I have a lot of things more to do during the coming few months. Really enjoying ….

Apologies for any inconvenience caused & will appreciate more help ...
rashid is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 03-12-2009, 02:28 PM
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UAE - Gulf Area
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
rashid is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Now & after installating another cluster which is better than the previous one but still some times certain few pixels (in the trip & temp meters) are disapearing sometimes!!! is it due to less battery power or i have to repair the cluster or replace it again?

marti, your help pls
rashid is offline  
#13 (permalink) Old 05-18-2009, 03:40 AM
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UAE - Gulf Area
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
rashid is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Marti ... where to put the plastic strip excatly? will appreciate your help
rashid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E39 Air Cond Instrument Panel Grand 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 0 08-08-2007 07:36 AM
Need Help To Remove Instrument Panel bmwboyz 3-Series (E36) 1 12-15-2004 11:10 PM
Instrument Panel (speedometer) OneFastBMW 3-Series (E21, E30) 2 09-22-2004 06:52 PM
Instrument panel switch jackinsac 3-Series (E21, E30) 4 03-16-2004 06:27 PM
Instrument Panel LED CosmosBlack 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 7 08-11-2003 04:15 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome