i have a 83 528e (stop laughing) ok need help - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) Chat relating to the BMW 5-Series of all generations. Specific models include: BMW 518, BMW 520, BMW 520i, BMW 530i, BMW 528i, BMW 530i, BMW 518i, BMW 524d, BMW 525i, BMW 525e, BMW 528e, BMW 540i, BMW 535i, BMW 520d, BMW 525td, BMW 525d, BMW 530d, BMW 525i/xi, BMW 530i/xi. (BMW 5-Series Forum)

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 12-10-2003, 03:35 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
networknine is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
oky doky heres the deal, i wanted to get a little more power out of my beemer
(no i'm not some poser racer, i just enjoy messing with my car)

oky doky then, well i was tihnking about puting together my own little cool air itnake or even stick a little short ram intake on there
BUT.. the tihng is
i ahve an airbox (well i figure just take it out right,, wrong)
the comptuer is hooked up to the airbox and if i detach the airbox from engine, or even unplug airbox from comp, the car no start WTF this si the only car i have ever seent hat do my friend with honda he can take whole airbox off his and friend with camaro s aem,, every other car, how can i modify the air itnake? i know i can just stick a K&N fitler in my airbox but that cost like 50 bucks when i can put a cool air intake in for 20ish nee some expert help thanks alot _switch,.,,
networknine is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 12-10-2003, 04:47 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
MrM3 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to MrM3
Welcome

are you saying you want to run the car without a filter? thats a good way to reduce performance or kill your engine if small foreign particles get into the engine. what kind of performance gains are you expecting for $20 anyways?
MrM3 is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 12-10-2003, 05:02 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
networknine is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
noo RUN WITHOUT THE FILTER~!?!?!? no no no i am new and leanring this car stuff but i know a little lol..
nah like a performance intake..

basically, what if i wanted to add a cool air intake system to my care instead of the WHOLE airbox...

the airbox has a huge comptuer plug on it, in order to ahve cool air inbtake i have to take the airbox out and put the pipe and filter in there instead..

but my main question was... how can i take the airbox out and stil be abel to start the engien (when ever i do, or even unplug it i guess the computer sense to much air and doens't let the engine start???)

just trying to learn my bmw and learn how it ticks,, thansk alot -switch

PS in short, i want to take airbox out, replace it with another type of itnake system...

but i can't take the airbox out b/c the engnien will not start without it.. y? i don;t know.....
networknine is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 12-10-2003, 05:04 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
networknine is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
umm this reply is to apologize for my messy typing, darn adhd has me and i type really fast at the sacrifice of accuracy..... soo like yeh i might have mis spelled some words anyway thanks...
networknine is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 12-10-2003, 05:58 PM
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
sp0rky is an unknown quantity at this point
the thing with the plug is the air sensor; it detaches from the air box. That is the unit you connect your intake to. Detach from air box, support some how, attach intake and filter (will need to buy adaptor or make one). Simple. I did this with my e34 but dont have a filter yet so i didnt put it on, although i did a test fit, ill show pix when i get my filter.

Good luck

sp0rky is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 12-10-2003, 06:20 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
networknine is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
okthanks alot for replyinh sp0rky, let me run this by u again, to make sure i understand.

OK, we have the airbox (we all know what that si)
then the air sensor, is that thei little square box on top of the airbox that the plug plugs into?????


and if so ur saying i need to disconenct that from air box and somehow (w/ adaptor) put on my new intake??????

ok wel if that's right.. it makes sense hehe/.. ok thanks reply back.. -Switch../
networknine is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 12-10-2003, 06:32 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
networknine is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
ok here i am at 2:11 Am checking out my haynes manuel, it dones';t say much about it, BUT (see keyword is but) is refes the the littel box at top as that airflow meter WTF do i need that for?? and how can i use a cool air intake syustem with it.. grrr. ok thnaks...
networknine is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 12-17-2003, 07:23 PM
Neutral Member
 
E28boi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
E28boi is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by networknine@Dec 10 2003, 07:12 PM
ok here i am at 2:11 Am checking out my haynes manuel, it dones';t say much about it, BUT (see keyword is but) is refes the the littel box at top as that airflow meter WTF do i need that for?? and how can i use a cool air intake syustem with it.. grrr. ok thnaks...
You need the airflow meter! It tells the engine how much air is going in and adjusts fuel accordingly.

86 535i
99 Passat V6
E28boi is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 12-21-2003, 04:52 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO USA
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
KC Ron Carter is an unknown quantity at this point
Two things will wake an eta up.

1. get a later model ECU, non soldered chip, and get a chip.

2. Get a ratio that is higher than the 2.93 to 1 you are using now.
3.25 to 1 is the usual selection, donor can be e24, e28, e30-6, or even a z3.

Here are a couple of pictures of an e28 CAI and cone filter.
There is a guy who sells the AFM mounts on E-Bay for $20.

Yours should be on the other side.



Later,
KC Ron Carter is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 12-21-2003, 05:31 PM
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
sp0rky is an unknown quantity at this point
you MUST keep the MAF, contact me on AIM @ sp0rkBABY or email me and i will send you pictures of how my intake turned out, maybe that will help you understand better.

good luck

sp0rky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To Stop The Water Pump KILOCHARLIE 3-Series (E36) 8 08-03-2005 08:09 AM
88 528e Auto Trans Electron 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 11 03-21-2005 11:24 PM
Engine Rebuild For A 1988 528e freshfish 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 4 10-19-2004 12:22 AM
Put an 82 528e tranny in a 96 535i? ronskal 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 2 06-09-2004 05:29 PM
home-made clutch stop woobiee Picture Showroom 7 02-11-2004 02:14 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome