HELP Needed !! 94 530i V8 engine won't start - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) Chat relating to the BMW 5-Series of all generations. Specific models include: BMW 518, BMW 520, BMW 520i, BMW 530i, BMW 528i, BMW 530i, BMW 518i, BMW 524d, BMW 525i, BMW 525e, BMW 528e, BMW 540i, BMW 535i, BMW 520d, BMW 525td, BMW 525d, BMW 530d, BMW 525i/xi, BMW 530i/xi. (BMW 5-Series Forum)

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 07-18-2009, 03:37 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
luhulima is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
HELP Needed !! 94 530i V8 engine won't start

Hi everyone,

My 530i V8 (M60 engine) won't start. The fuel pump seems to be working (took it off and tried it with direct current. Changed the Crankshaft sensor and fuel pump relay. It cranks but it won't run. There are times when it sounds like it is about to but then turned back to cranking again. Visually the camshaft sensor cable is already very stiff, the same as the crankshaft sensor cable before changing it.

Anyone has ever had similar problems? Thanks.

luhulima is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 07-18-2009, 05:07 AM
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
marti5 is on a distinguished road
Pull a plug and see if you have a spark.

VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!
marti5 is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 07-19-2009, 11:55 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
luhulima is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Right...haven't checked that before. I'll do it tomorrow. What could it be if there is no spark?

Thanks.
luhulima is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 07-22-2009, 08:26 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
luhulima is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by marti5 View Post
Pull a plug and see if you have a spark.
Pulled a plug and found sparks. Like I mentioned, changed the fuel pump relay and crankshaft sensor. Now placed a new fuel pump just to try. Find out that the fuel pump is not even running when key is turned to "on" position (last position before starting) Even after starting, no traces of fuel in the hose once removed. What could it be?

Thanks.
luhulima is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 07-22-2009, 08:46 AM
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
marti5 is on a distinguished road
The pump doesnt cut in until you actually start to crank over, and this is controlled by the crankshaft sensor.

Sounds to me as if the camshaft sensor has died as this controls the injectors and timing, so if this has gone it will not demand any fuel.

VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!
marti5 is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 07-22-2009, 09:55 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
luhulima is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by marti5 View Post
The pump doesnt cut in until you actually start to crank over, and this is controlled by the crankshaft sensor.

Sounds to me as if the camshaft sensor has died as this controls the injectors and timing, so if this has gone it will not demand any fuel.
Thanks...just a thought. Since I have new pump and crankshaft sensor, shouldn't it pump some fuel when I crank the engine over? I tried cranking it without plugging the hoses but there is no gasoline pumping out from the tank??? I will try to get new camshaft sensor and see if it will help, and I will inform further.
luhulima is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 07-24-2009, 03:33 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
luhulima is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by marti5 View Post
The pump doesnt cut in until you actually start to crank over, and this is controlled by the crankshaft sensor.

Sounds to me as if the camshaft sensor has died as this controls the injectors and timing, so if this has gone it will not demand any fuel.
Hi Marti 5,

I have changed the camshaft sensor but it doesn't yield any result . Now, I have new camshaft and crankshaft sensor, new fuel pump and fuel pump relay. I have sparks, but I believe that the fuel pump is still not sending any fuel to the front. I haven't checked now by opening the hose, but I believe it is still the same. I checked the relay and it is good. Fusible links are good and all hoses and pipes. What can I check next?? Is there a collision inertia switch that is accidentally pushed down for some reason?

Please help....I want to get this car running cause I'm a bit tired of driving my Range Rover Classic daily. I need to drive my BMW as well :-D

Thanks.
luhulima is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 07-24-2009, 03:45 AM
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
marti5 is on a distinguished road
So there's no fuel.....Fuel filter blocked ?

VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!
marti5 is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 07-25-2009, 07:17 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
luhulima is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by marti5 View Post
So there's no fuel.....Fuel filter blocked ?
I've checked, the fuel filter isn't blocked. The fuel pump is not running for some reason. I connected a direct current from a spare battery and the pump runs and I was able to start the car, but as soon as I disconnected the battery, the pump dies off and so is the car.

What could it be...I know now I need to close everything in the back and move up front, but with all the new sensors and relay, what could be next???
luhulima is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 07-25-2009, 08:04 AM
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
marti5 is on a distinguished road
I would say there must be a fuseable link somewhere, Im not sure at the moment I will have a scout around my files.

VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!
marti5 is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 07-25-2009, 08:10 AM
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
marti5 is on a distinguished road
Ok the fuseable links are under the rear seat. bypass the link and see what happens.

If that fails I can only think of one other thing and thats the ignition switch.

VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!

Last edited by marti5; 07-25-2009 at 08:14 AM.
marti5 is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 07-25-2009, 09:37 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
luhulima is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by marti5 View Post
Ok the fuseable links are under the rear seat. bypass the link and see what happens.

If that fails I can only think of one other thing and thats the ignition switch.
The fuseable link is good, is there only one or there are more? The one under the seat just behind the battery is good. Could it be the immobilizer? How could I check if it is? Is there any way to bypass it? What ignition switch? Where can I locate that?

Thanks.
luhulima is offline  
#13 (permalink) Old 07-25-2009, 12:12 PM
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
marti5 is on a distinguished road
Ok, When you checked the relays, can you tell me where the ones you checked were located.

If it was the immobilizer , even by direct feeding the pump the car would no way start.

Ignition switch is where you put the key in to start the car !!

VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!

Last edited by marti5; 07-25-2009 at 12:14 PM.
marti5 is offline  
#14 (permalink) Old 07-25-2009, 01:20 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
luhulima is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by marti5 View Post
Ok, When you checked the relays, can you tell me where the ones you checked were located.

If it was the immobilizer , even by direct feeding the pump the car would no way start.

Ignition switch is where you put the key in to start the car !!
I checked the one on the right side (passenger side for left hand drive) Where the DME, ABS and ASC ECU is also located. The fuse I checked from the e-box on the driver side where the CCM and LCM is located.

Ah....so that ignition switch...I thought there is another one, like an inertia collision switch :-D I do have an extra alarm system in the car, could it be that it is the culprit? It's a carguard 850S alarm system.
luhulima is offline  
#15 (permalink) Old 07-26-2009, 07:07 AM
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
marti5 is on a distinguished road
Ah! the extra alarm system could well be the problem a friend had one fitted and after 2 months had problems with none starting and battery drain.

Disconnect it and see what happens.

VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!
marti5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1994 E34 530i Won't Start! Please Help! E34HartgeH5 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 10 07-15-2013 02:37 PM
Help Needed - 525d Won't Start?? L19YDC 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 13 05-08-2009 09:39 PM
01 530i Cold Start? biobill 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 7 04-08-2009 10:50 AM
engine needed thetallwun 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 0 01-25-2009 01:33 AM
Engine Ping When First Start Engine Cold mikes325is 3-Series (E36) 0 09-29-2004 07:12 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome