Help My Dash Has gone Mental - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) Chat relating to the BMW 5-Series of all generations. Specific models include: BMW 518, BMW 520, BMW 520i, BMW 530i, BMW 528i, BMW 530i, BMW 518i, BMW 524d, BMW 525i, BMW 525e, BMW 528e, BMW 540i, BMW 535i, BMW 520d, BMW 525td, BMW 525d, BMW 530d, BMW 525i/xi, BMW 530i/xi. (BMW 5-Series Forum)

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 02-09-2009, 03:40 AM
n00b
 
bmnkyharris9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Devon
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bmnkyharris9 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Exclamation Help My Dash Has gone Mental

Hi there

I have a 525tds touring which Ihave owned about 8 months, in the last week here in devon and across the uk we have had some interesting whether i.e snow and a fair bit of it.

Well after a trip out in the snow the dash on my car started to go mental the spedo was jumping fron 0mph to 50mph and then back to 0mph the odometer had turned its self off completly and the fuel and temp gauges were reading either zero or bouncing like the speedo.

well I got home and turn the ignition off then on again this appeared to reset it but the problem has persisted and can either happen as described above or the dash just shuts down completely I need help as I believe its down to a plug or connector that would have been affected by either snow hitting the bottom of the car or water in a connection but dont know where to start looking please can anyone help me.
bmnkyharris9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 02-09-2009, 06:19 AM
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
marti5 is on a distinguished road
Speed sensor, located on the rear of the diff , you cant miss it wire coming out from it, its either failed, or corroded (clean up an try) or wire loose or broken.

VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!
marti5 is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 02-09-2009, 07:08 AM
n00b
 
bmnkyharris9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Devon
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bmnkyharris9 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Thumbs up Okay will give that a look

will give it a look any other advise welcome
bmnkyharris9 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 02-10-2009, 03:19 AM
n00b
 
bmnkyharris9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Devon
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bmnkyharris9 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Exclamation The Fault has change slightly

I have had a look at the speed sensor on the rear diff and there are no obviouse signs of damage from driving through the snow, know the dash bored just seems to be either on off and it will go and come back with know pattern.

Would the fault with the speed sensor coause this complete shut down of all the gauges.
bmnkyharris9 is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 02-10-2009, 07:53 AM
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
MADDOUG is on a distinguished road
Faulty speed sensor will also affect windscreen wipers,they will only work at high speed,you will lose the intermittent facility and normal speed, because they take a signal from speedo sensor .So in normal speed use when the car stops at traffic lights the speedo sensor signal ceases and the wipers go to intermittent mode until car begins to move again.If your wipers function ok then the fault does not lie with the speedo sensor.
MADDOUG is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 02-10-2009, 09:09 AM
n00b
 
bmnkyharris9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Devon
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bmnkyharris9 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Thumbs up Okay then

Well my wippers are working normally so I guess tha rules that one out has anyone got any other idears.

I think it must be a vulnerable dash conection ??????
bmnkyharris9 is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 02-10-2009, 09:17 AM
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
marti5 is on a distinguished road
sent PM.

VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!
marti5 is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 02-10-2009, 03:08 PM
Im Bluffin With My Muffin
 
AlpineSixAndSeven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 5,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
AlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to behold AlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to behold AlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to behold AlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to behold AlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to behold AlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to behold AlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via AIM to AlpineSixAndSeven
no it is no a Speed sensor issue that would NOT effect the temp and fuel gauges... it sounds like a short or a loose connection pull the cluster and clean the connections on it

1991 Ford Taurs SHO 5 Speed White on Tan
1996 Chevy Lumina LTZ Rep 3.4L
1992 318i Coupe parts car
1992 325i Ls1 swap with a T56 6 speed 12.2 quarter mile
1976 Mercedes Benz 300D with a Ford 5.0L Fuel Injected soon to be Modded
I am Captain Obvious
AlpineSixAndSeven is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 02-25-2009, 08:51 AM
n00b
 
bmnkyharris9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Devon
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bmnkyharris9 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Smile Well the problem is sorted

Hi

I sorted the problem but only by replacing the cluster with a used part the fault was on the board but was not obviouse.

All is good just need to get the millage set right know.
bmnkyharris9 is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 02-25-2009, 09:38 AM
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
marti5 is on a distinguished road
Well done, PCB hey, a hard to spot fault, glad your sorted.

VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!
marti5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Dash Passatie 3-Series (E36) 5 12-06-2005 08:11 PM
Out Dash Dvd lefsa Audio and Electronics 7 07-04-2005 07:52 AM
Dash Lights metalmayhem 3-Series (E36) 0 12-25-2004 04:35 AM
Dash keeps dieing LivinFast67 3-Series (E36) 7 10-30-2004 02:56 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome