HELP ME PLEASE!! Car Won't Start! - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) Chat relating to the BMW 5-Series of all generations. Specific models include: BMW 518, BMW 520, BMW 520i, BMW 530i, BMW 528i, BMW 530i, BMW 518i, BMW 524d, BMW 525i, BMW 525e, BMW 528e, BMW 540i, BMW 535i, BMW 520d, BMW 525td, BMW 525d, BMW 530d, BMW 525i/xi, BMW 530i/xi. (BMW 5-Series Forum)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 07-23-2009, 10:47 AM
n00b

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
kmoekhan is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Unhappy HELP ME PLEASE!! Car Won't Start!

HI,
I'm a newbie & know a bit about cars but NOT (Let me add) BMW's.
I'm a private cabbie in Birmingham & dropped of a passenger last Saturday at the Airport & helped them out with their luggage (Turning the ignition off as you do).
After I went to pay the 1 Park & Drop fee (Rip-off Birmingham Airport charges to drop-off but that's a different story), I tried starting the car but it wouldn't have it.
It turned over but wouldn't fire.
After calling the AA he tiuched the fuel filter & the car fired up "Twice in succession", anyhow after completing the paperwork he tried it once more & damn it wouldn't start.
He removed the pipe off leading to the fuel pump & asked me to turn on the ignition pointing out a misty colouring of my diesel saying "This is a sign of a faulty fuel pump (In the tank)
He got it started (Don't know how) & I got it to my mates garage whereby after I switched off the ignition it would not start again.
I changed the LP Fuel pump in the tank with a NEW one nut still it will not go.
The mechanic says he gets code "2550 & 4704 using a BOSCH reader & the wording for the fault code is:- "Prefeed pressure monitor below working pressure".
He doesn't understand what this means but showed me the pressure in the fuel tank from the pump is high but is lower when it gets to the fuel filter.