Help! E34 Rev limiter hits @ 4700 rpm. - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) Chat relating to the BMW 5-Series of all generations. Specific models include: BMW 518, BMW 520, BMW 520i, BMW 530i, BMW 528i, BMW 530i, BMW 518i, BMW 524d, BMW 525i, BMW 525e, BMW 528e, BMW 540i, BMW 535i, BMW 520d, BMW 525td, BMW 525d, BMW 530d, BMW 525i/xi, BMW 530i/xi. (BMW 5-Series Forum)

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 08-18-2008, 12:47 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
foxese34 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Help! E34 Rev limiter hits @ 4700 rpm.

Hello All,

First time BMW owner, long time amateur wrench turner.

I've searched and searched through here but couldn't find an answer.

I have a 95 525i automatic with the M50TU engine. It has 120k miles and is in good shape except...

The rev limiter kicks in at 4700 rpm. It does this under ALL conditions, cold, hot, shifting manually or parked in neutral. The engine runs great, no hesitation or weakness on 91 octane gas. It does get about 15 mpg around town and 21 hwy, which is not as good as it should be and it smells a little rich. No fault codes and it passed CA smog but was at the high end on some readings.

I've gone through just about every sensor I could per the Bentley and everything seems to be working. A local BMW repair shop thought the ECM might be bad so put in a different DME to no effect. What is left? I found two .25 inch metal shavings stuck to the camshaft position sensor magnet but could not identify a source. Will a non-functioning VANOS cause this? Is there a way that I can check the VANOS operation other than with the special BMW tools? I've already checked the solenoid function while removed from the car.

How about a shop in the Roseville/Sacramento, CA area that is REALLY good at weird stuff (already tried Bertinis).

Any help would be appreciated. I am sooooo frustrated!

Thanks,

CD
foxese34 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 08-18-2008, 09:53 AM
OMFG another one!?
 
witeshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 14,697
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice
Is it possible that someone installed a limiter from an ETA engine?

BMW

Sig by zeaq
witeshark is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 08-18-2008, 10:54 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
foxese34 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by witeshark View Post
Is it possible that someone installed a limiter from an ETA engine?
Thanks for the reply.

I don't think so. The car had the original intact DME module (as indicated by the matching VIN#). I bought a used DME from a junk yard and had the EWS reprogrammed. The new DME performs exactly same way that original does.

CD
foxese34 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 08-18-2008, 01:13 PM
OMFG another one!?
 
witeshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 14,697
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice
Any idea if a chip was changed out?

BMW

Sig by zeaq
witeshark is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 08-18-2008, 01:40 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
foxese34 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by witeshark View Post
Any idea if a chip was changed out?
I don't think so. Both of the ECM/DME's that I've had in it look like the tabs holding them closed have never been tampered with. Even if one had, the other shouldn't have the same behavior. Is there another module that inputs into the system other than the Bosche DME, located on the right side of the engine compartment?

CD
foxese34 is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 08-18-2008, 02:08 PM
OMFG another one!?
 
witeshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 14,697
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice
It looks like you need to know more about all the criteria the engine control system uses to set the limiter. I don't know of any way to simply change it manually. Some sensor must be off, and I think your fuel economy is a big clue.

BMW

Sig by zeaq
witeshark is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 08-18-2008, 05:28 PM
5th Gear Member
 
darkhorse737's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
darkhorse737 is on a distinguished road
it might that be the rev limiter thats causing u probs. it might be a fuel to air ratio prob thts causing ur car to sputter* sputter* sputter* at the rpm u say

take witeshark's tip and recheck fuel metering...
darkhorse737 is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 08-18-2008, 06:48 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
foxese34 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkhorse737 View Post
it might that be the rev limiter thats causing u probs. it might be a fuel to air ratio prob thts causing ur car to sputter* sputter* sputter* at the rpm u say

take witeshark's tip and recheck fuel metering...
There's no sputter, stumble, or stutter. It's pulling strong and then it gives the rapid "dat, dat, dat..." of the fuel being electrically cutoff just as if it were at the redline. It happens at the same rpm wether at part throttle or full. It also does it in park or driving. First or second gear, haven't tried third, the car would be going too fast.

CD
foxese34 is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 08-18-2008, 07:16 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
foxese34 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by witeshark View Post
It looks like you need to know more about all the criteria the engine control system uses to set the limiter. I don't know of any way to simply change it manually. Some sensor must be off, and I think your fuel economy is a big clue.
That's what I had been thinking. So I went through the Mass Air, TPS, O2 sensors and checked the injectors for leaks. Replaced many old hoses to tidy up vacuum leaks. Also thought maybe it was stuck in "cold" mode due to bad engine temp sensor but that wasn't it either.

My main theory now is: what if the VANOS isn't cycling? The computer looks for the cam to reposition due to the solenoid energizing just above idle and then reposition back at a higher rpm (which I've read is somewhere in the neighborhood of 4500rpm). If the computer doesn't see the cam reposition, will it prevent further rpm rise? This would also affect fuel metering if the cam is not advancing and retarding as designed. How can I tell if VANOS is working? Mine makes no noise that I can hear as I rev it up and back. Should I be able to hear the solenoid as it picks up just above idle?

CD
foxese34 is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 08-18-2008, 09:00 PM
OMFG another one!?
 
witeshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 14,697
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice
That's gotta be worth a look.

BMW

Sig by zeaq
witeshark is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 08-19-2008, 01:30 AM
Moderator
 
Dirty_Tool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Dirty_Tool has a reputation beyond repute Dirty_Tool has a reputation beyond repute Dirty_Tool has a reputation beyond repute Dirty_Tool has a reputation beyond repute Dirty_Tool has a reputation beyond repute Dirty_Tool has a reputation beyond repute Dirty_Tool has a reputation beyond repute Dirty_Tool has a reputation beyond repute Dirty_Tool has a reputation beyond repute Dirty_Tool has a reputation beyond repute Dirty_Tool has a reputation beyond repute
interesting issue. Give Dave a call at Performance Motorworks in Rocklin. Im sure they can figure it out. 916 624-9656

DT




Dirty_Tool is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 08-19-2008, 09:11 AM
5th Gear Member
 
darkhorse737's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
darkhorse737 is on a distinguished road
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxese34 View Post
That's what I had been thinking. So I went through the Mass Air, TPS, O2 sensors and checked the injectors for leaks. Replaced many old hoses to tidy up vacuum leaks. Also thought maybe it was stuck in "cold" mode due to bad engine temp sensor but that wasn't it either.

My main theory now is: what if the VANOS isn't cycling? The computer looks for the cam to reposition due to the solenoid energizing just above idle and then reposition back at a higher rpm (which I've read is somewhere in the neighborhood of 4500rpm). If the computer doesn't see the cam reposition, will it prevent further rpm rise? This would also affect fuel metering if the cam is not advancing and retarding as designed. How can I tell if VANOS is working? Mine makes no noise that I can hear as I rev it up and back. Should I be able to hear the solenoid as it picks up just above idle?

CD
if any of the sensors or VANOS wasn't working, it would have thrown a CEL.

Have you done a scan yet? :-)
darkhorse737 is offline  
#13 (permalink) Old 08-19-2008, 06:18 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
foxese34 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkhorse737 View Post
if any of the sensors or VANOS wasn't working, it would have thrown a CEL.

Have you done a scan yet? :-)
Yes. I've done the stomp test and had no codes and I had it in a local bmw repair specialist shop for a diagnostic. They found nothing bad so recommended ECM/DME replacement. I changed that out but still have the problem.

I've been given the names now of a couple of other shops, I'll call and see what they think.

Thanks,

CD
foxese34 is offline  
#14 (permalink) Old 08-19-2008, 10:20 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
foxese34 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirty_Tool View Post
interesting issue. Give Dave a call at Performance Motorworks in Rocklin. Im sure they can figure it out. 916 624-9656
Thanks for the number. Dave seemed very interested and I'm taking it to him Friday. I'll post what he turns up.

CD
foxese34 is offline  
#15 (permalink) Old 01-31-2009, 02:44 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
paanta is on a distinguished road
Sorry to revive a dead post, but did you ever figure this one out? My e34 535i is doing the same thing (except at 5600 RPM)
paanta is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with 530i early rev-limiter kick-in rldwv 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 1 05-19-2006 07:19 PM
Shark Injection+rev Limiter Deloriant 3-Series (E36) 1 11-03-2004 12:42 AM
HELP REV LIMITER IS CUTTING IN AT 4500 REVS matt247365 3-Series (E21, E30) 0 06-06-2004 04:59 AM
Rev Limiter? frank3 3-Series (E36) 11 02-07-2004 03:39 PM
Shift Points/Rev Limiter roloson M-Series (M1, M3, M5, M6) 8 12-10-2003 04:46 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome