Help-Business radio missing pixle - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) Chat relating to the BMW 5-Series of all generations. Specific models include: BMW 518, BMW 520, BMW 520i, BMW 530i, BMW 528i, BMW 530i, BMW 518i, BMW 524d, BMW 525i, BMW 525e, BMW 528e, BMW 540i, BMW 535i, BMW 520d, BMW 525td, BMW 525d, BMW 530d, BMW 525i/xi, BMW 530i/xi. (BMW 5-Series Forum)

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 11-22-2008, 01:48 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
rdavish is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Question Help-Business radio missing pixle

Some of the cluster pixles on my 2003 530 iA is missing makng is impossible to read the screen. Does anybody know if it can be fixed without installing a new radio?

Thanks
rdavish is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 11-22-2008, 04:36 AM
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
marti5 is on a distinguished road
Here you go, have done mine and its still fine after 18 months:

7 series are the same as the 5 series.

PIXEL FIX DIY write up, about a 2 hour job and some patience (Long pic warning)

Good luck.

VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!

Last edited by marti5; 11-22-2008 at 04:38 AM.
marti5 is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 11-22-2008, 08:25 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
rdavish is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Thanks Marti 5 for response. My instrument cluster was actually replaced by BMW couple of years ago. This time is my radio display. Any thought on how you fix that?

Thanks
rdavish is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 11-23-2008, 07:22 AM
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
marti5 is on a distinguished road
Hi,You have to replace the unit, the good news is the display you are seeing is not the radio and the part is not as expensive as you may possible think( costs are all relative).

I would stick with the dealer, there software is being constantly updated. I would guess that they are about 150 to 250. To remove the face plate (MID) pull the volume knob straight off. At the bottom of the cavity is an opening with an allen screw head in it. Take a 2.5mm allen and turn it 90 degrees and with a credit card or small screw driver and lever it out. Call your dealer or parts source first to give them the part number as there many button options and they may not have it or have to order it. If they ask if you want it pre coded say YES!!

Hope this helps, and I,m thinking of the right unit.

VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!

Last edited by marti5; 11-23-2008 at 07:25 AM.
marti5 is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 11-23-2008, 11:36 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
rdavish is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Thanks Marti5. I was hoping to be able to repair it myself (the engineer in me) but i geuss will snap a part and contribute the old part to land fill.

I picked this car (2003 530iA) with 88k miles for $9000. Everything work great except the radio pixel( at least what I thought) I just noticed the oil leak at the boots on rack and pinion. At first thought it is the resrvior tubes but now I am sure is the rack's seals and the reservior tube. What is your opinion of after market racks for this model?
rdavish is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 11-23-2008, 01:55 PM
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
marti5 is on a distinguished road
Well, I would get the rack rebuild kit from the dealer and DIY, or you could find one at a breakers, aftermarket are fine , but dont last aslong as BMW oem.

VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!
marti5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radio Code Missing;dealer Won't Co-operate! UsedRomance3 3-Series (E36) 7 11-04-2009 11:15 PM
Need Radio Code For 1992 Business Radio danger450 3-Series (E36) 5 03-07-2005 12:35 PM
Bmw business CD radio or not?? Pizzaconnection European Countries 1 02-22-2005 06:05 AM
E39 Business Radio Markowner Audio and Electronics 2 01-31-2005 06:00 PM
Business Radio Diagram crazyro 3-Series (E46, E90) 0 12-09-2004 04:01 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome