Hazard Lights Wont Quit -e34 - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) Chat relating to the BMW 5-Series of all generations. Specific models include: BMW 518, BMW 520, BMW 520i, BMW 530i, BMW 528i, BMW 530i, BMW 518i, BMW 524d, BMW 525i, BMW 525e, BMW 528e, BMW 540i, BMW 535i, BMW 520d, BMW 525td, BMW 525d, BMW 530d, BMW 525i/xi, BMW 530i/xi. (BMW 5-Series Forum)

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2005, 01:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Car:
Posts: 5
Photos:
turbotron is an unknown quantity at this point
1990 BMW 535i manual trans
ghead
This is the deal I was looking out the window and I saw that my hazards were going off. I go out and see whats up, check the hazard switch it's off. Check the anti-theft... little red light is going off. So i put the keys in the car start it... anti-theft light goes off hazards still going off. Turn the hazard switch on and off a few times, still going off. Shut the car off, lock and unlock the doors, Still going off. So I find the fuse, and pull it. Now it's off but I have no turn sigs of course. But I'm stumped as to WHY they are going off. Anyone familure with this? Heres a picture of the fuse I pulled.
Fuse labeled
61.36-1388 546
12v-
[attachmentid=18731]
On the other side stamped
92859
[attachmentid=18732]

Please let me know whats up with this if you can share any info at all.
Brandon
Brandon_braley@hotmail.com
Attached Thumbnails
Hazard Lights Wont Quit -e34-bwmfuse.jpg   Hazard Lights Wont Quit -e34-bwmfuse1.jpg  
turbotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-22-2005, 05:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Car: Its slow, gotta M20 in it
Posts: 4,840
Photos:
da_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
Is this a car you just bought, or have you had it a while? The reason I ask is I have seen car lots cut the siren to an aftermarket alarm, thinking that they have disabled it, dont give you the remotes (for not having them or forgetting to giv them, lost etc.). Then you drive off, maybe a week, month, a year later for some reason that alarm sets itself and with nothing else hooked up it looks like the hazards, when in fact, its the alarm flashing the park lights.

I am not really sure what it is you pulled, maybe the park light relay, someone else may be better suited to answer that.

Hope that helps...
__________________


-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 12:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Car:
Posts: 358
Photos:
bad man working is an unknown quantity at this point
I agree that the fault is with an after market alarm which your better off getting rid of, the thing you've pull out looks like the flasher relay. For a quick fix when I used to fit these alarm I'd always connect the light feed from the alarm ECU to the wiring at the hazard switch (I think it was brown/blue pin 4 but don't quote me) there's only 4 wires anyway. Pop out the switch follow the wires until you see a wire jointed in (I used to solder but it could be black connectors) cut off this wire and if necessary rejoin the cars wiring tape up the alarm wire and you should be right.
bad man working is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2005, 10:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Car:
Posts: 5
Photos:
turbotron is an unknown quantity at this point
Arrow

Quote:
Originally posted by bad man working@Feb 22 2005, 12:59 PM
I agree that the fault is with an after market alarm which your better off getting rid of, the thing you've pull out looks like the flasher relay. For a quick fix when I used to fit these alarm I'd always connect the light feed from the alarm ECU to the wiring at the hazard switch (I think it was brown/blue pin 4 but don't quote me) there's only 4 wires anyway. Pop out the switch follow the wires until you see a wire jointed in (I used to solder but it could be black connectors) cut off this wire and if necessary rejoin the cars wiring tape up the alarm wire and you should be right.
[snapback]297053[/snapback]
No I've actually had the car for almost a year, it's never done this before. And there is no aftermarket alarm on the car. I appreciate the responses still trying to figure out the problem. I'm totally stumped on this still.

Brandon
turbotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2005, 10:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Car:
Posts: 5
Photos:
turbotron is an unknown quantity at this point
and I've actually put that relay back in ( the one pictured ) and just pulled the fuse and that of course as the same effect.
turbotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2005, 11:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Car:
Posts: 3
Photos:
VTHokie525i is an unknown quantity at this point
I had that problem with my 525i 91, I think the previous owner had spilled something on the hazzard switch becuase I would be driving down the road and they would start blinking and the button was not depressed so they should have been off. I just bought a new hazzard light switch from bavarianauto and that fixed the prob. good luck
__________________
Jennifer- NJ!
VTHokie525i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 03:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Car:
Posts: 5
Photos:
turbotron is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by VTHokie525i@Feb 27 2005, 11:05 AM
I had that problem with my 525i 91, I think the previous owner had spilled something on the hazzard switch becuase I would be driving down the road and they would start blinking and the button was not depressed so they should have been off. I just bought a new hazzard light switch from bavarianauto and that fixed the prob. good luck
[snapback]300342[/snapback]
Dang, sounds like that might be it.. grrr how much was the switch. Or better yet i"ll just go look right now.


Brandon
turbotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2000 323i hazard lights & central locking kreg8788 3-Series (E46, E90) 3 02-21-2010 11:39 PM
Hazard Lights slick200201 3-Series (E36) 0 07-11-2004 12:22 PM
Hazard lights napa218 3-Series (E36) 2 04-27-2004 01:50 PM
electrical of licence plate, rear side lights javieruz 3-Series (E21, E30) 1 03-14-2004 08:08 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.