Getting Back My Green Service Lights On Dash. - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) Chat relating to the BMW 5-Series of all generations. Specific models include: BMW 518, BMW 520, BMW 520i, BMW 530i, BMW 528i, BMW 530i, BMW 518i, BMW 524d, BMW 525i, BMW 525e, BMW 528e, BMW 540i, BMW 535i, BMW 520d, BMW 525td, BMW 525d, BMW 530d, BMW 525i/xi, BMW 530i/xi. (BMW 5-Series Forum)

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 07-21-2005, 09:10 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
fdeee is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Anybody know how to get all my little green service lights back without bringing the car to BMW. I have a 1997 528i.
fdeee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 07-21-2005, 09:54 AM
5th Gear Member
 
billB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
billB has a reputation beyond repute billB has a reputation beyond repute billB has a reputation beyond repute billB has a reputation beyond repute billB has a reputation beyond repute billB has a reputation beyond repute billB has a reputation beyond repute billB has a reputation beyond repute billB has a reputation beyond repute billB has a reputation beyond repute billB has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Yahoo to billB
you have to buy youself a reset tool for about $100.......I use R5 FCXll scan/reset tool.....made by peake research.......there is a way to jump the wires but I don't like it.....playing around with otherwise expensive electronics

regards
billb
billB is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 07-21-2005, 10:03 AM
R.I.P Steve aka fast 6
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: england
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
fast 6 is hated around these parts
go to BMW give him 10 dollars and he mite do it for you I did it once in englnad

1967 to 2006 rip
fast 6 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 07-21-2005, 10:22 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
fdeee is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally posted by billB@Jul 21 2005, 10:54 AM
you have to buy youself a reset tool for about $100.......I use R5 FCXll scan/reset tool.....made by peake research.......there is a way to jump the wires but I don't like it.....playing around with otherwise expensive electronics

regards
billb
[snapback]364060[/snapback]
Thamks Bill. I bought one on ebay but its just for the service lights cost me 49 bucks. You think I should have went for the other one you spoke of? Regards frank
fdeee is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 07-21-2005, 12:28 PM
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
sp0rky is an unknown quantity at this point
To get the green lights back, you only need to spend $0.10 on a small legnth of wire. No fancy equipment necessary for such a simple procedure!

The wire jumping procedure isn't dangerous in the least if your somewhat comfortable with your car. I mean - you do it by grounding the wire. It's not like it has power and your going to short it - the only way you could damage it is by connecting it to a positive lead.

The reset tools work in the same way. It jumpers the reset pin with a ground pin when you press the button.

sp0rky is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 07-21-2005, 02:22 PM
1st Gear Member
 
tacroteau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
tacroteau can only hope to improve
Send a message via AIM to tacroteau
Any idea which pin you ground?


Quote:
Originally posted by sp0rky@Jul 21 2005, 01:28 PM
To get the green lights back, you only need to spend $0.10 on a small legnth of wire. No fancy equipment necessary for such a simple procedure!

The wire jumping procedure isn't dangerous in the least if your somewhat comfortable with your car. I mean - you do it by grounding the wire. It's not like it has power and your going to short it - the only way you could damage it is by connecting it to a positive lead.

The reset tools work in the same way. It jumpers the reset pin with a ground pin when you press the button.
[snapback]364101[/snapback]
tacroteau is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 07-21-2005, 03:17 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Poquoson, VA
Posts: 591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Bear is an unknown quantity at this point
The pin holes to jumper are #7-#19, iginition to position #2 and 4 seconds for oil reset, 7 seconds for whole enchilada. Heavy gauge wire and you might wish to put a low amp fuse in the wire (I never did). Go to:
http;//www.nmia.com/~dgnrg/page_2.htm
Don Gale's page.
Bear is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 07-21-2005, 10:12 PM
5th Gear Member
 
billB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
billB has a reputation beyond repute billB has a reputation beyond repute billB has a reputation beyond repute billB has a reputation beyond repute billB has a reputation beyond repute billB has a reputation beyond repute billB has a reputation beyond repute billB has a reputation beyond repute billB has a reputation beyond repute billB has a reputation beyond repute billB has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Yahoo to billB
Guys I have heard sorry stories about wire jumping......If the money is an issue here any place like Jeffy lubes and or auto zones will do it for free.... rather than jumping electronics......up to you of course

regards

billb
billB is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 07-21-2005, 10:27 PM
Millions of them.
 
Torque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 14,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute
I jumped mine. Easiest thing ever. Short pin 7 to 19 for a few seconds and greens are back. Cost = nothing.

Torque is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 07-22-2005, 02:11 AM
Keep it Copacetic
 
///M Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO ||| Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 9,481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
///M Power has a reputation beyond repute ///M Power has a reputation beyond repute ///M Power has a reputation beyond repute ///M Power has a reputation beyond repute ///M Power has a reputation beyond repute ///M Power has a reputation beyond repute ///M Power has a reputation beyond repute ///M Power has a reputation beyond repute ///M Power has a reputation beyond repute ///M Power has a reputation beyond repute ///M Power has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to ///M Power
looks like we got a few 007's on these boards i reckon....


1995 BMW M3 Turbo - Dakar/Black
///M Power is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 07-24-2005, 12:30 PM
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
sp0rky is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by billB@Jul 21 2005, 09:12 PM
Guys I have heard sorry stories about wire jumping......If the money is an issue here any place like Jeffy lubes and or auto zones will do it for free.... rather than jumping electronics......up to you of course

regards

billb
[snapback]364277[/snapback]
I suppose if you jumper the wrong pins... other than that there is no danger.

These machines aren't super advanced space-crafts or anything. The e39 has already hit 8 years old - simple technology. Just pay attention to what you do.

sp0rky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Green Service Lights? Silvr02 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 1 08-02-2005 08:30 PM
Questions About Dash Lights? Sasha 3-Series (E46, E90) 2 03-25-2005 04:05 PM
1989 BMW 525i Dash Lights delussional77 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 3 07-01-2004 04:09 PM
Dash lights out on MZ3.... NitroRoadster 1,6,7,8 - Series and Mini Cooper 2 10-16-2003 09:09 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome