Factory alarm remotes - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) Chat relating to the BMW 5-Series of all generations. Specific models include: BMW 518, BMW 520, BMW 520i, BMW 530i, BMW 528i, BMW 530i, BMW 518i, BMW 524d, BMW 525i, BMW 525e, BMW 528e, BMW 540i, BMW 535i, BMW 520d, BMW 525td, BMW 525d, BMW 530d, BMW 525i/xi, BMW 530i/xi. (BMW 5-Series Forum)

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2004, 11:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
n00b
 
steve325IS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Car:
Posts: 29
Photos:
steve325IS is an unknown quantity at this point
hey,
I lost one of the remotes for the fac. alarm on a 95 525. Dealer wants $170!
ON ebay there are remotes, but most say from 89-94. Car is a 95, will that work and why do most of them end at '94? Some remotes are Alpine for BMW, while others are factory type remotes. Which should I get? I dunno if my remote has a chip in it. Please help out...


__________________
<img src='http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2004-6/749643/closer.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
steve325IS is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-29-2004, 12:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
LOS
4th Gear Member
 
LOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: L.A Calif.
Car: 97 540IA, 95 840CI
Posts: 863
Photos:
LOS is an unknown quantity at this point
Stay with the factory alarm. '94 will work on a 95... I don't know why they don't include the 95 year...

For additional technical information on the alarm location etc, go to WWW.CIRCLEBMW.COM and click "service dept", then "tech tips" at the bottom left corner. I almost forgot, there is a chip i nthe unit. I have two chips with me, you can have them... pay postage????

LOS
LOS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 12:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
n00b
 
steve325IS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Car:
Posts: 29
Photos:
steve325IS is an unknown quantity at this point
hey bud,
if I get the remote from eBay will it have the chip in it? I was reading the remote manual and they explain how to program a new remote with the alarm "brain".

are you saying that some remotes may not come with the chip?

thanks
__________________
<img src='http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2004-6/749643/closer.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
steve325IS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 12:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
LOS
4th Gear Member
 
LOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: L.A Calif.
Car: 97 540IA, 95 840CI
Posts: 863
Photos:
LOS is an unknown quantity at this point
Not sure if it'll work, but if you have factory alarm, stay with it... Go to the website I listed before and see if the unit looks the same. It tells you how to program it as well. As for the remote, I don't know if they will include the chip... There was another thread in regards to this topic. Do a search under alarm and see what comes up. Go to page 9 on this forum... FRANK3 had a similar question question..

I bought the remote and chip from BAVAUTO.COM myself, very expensive... I don't have this car anymore. I upgraded to a 97 540i
LOS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 01:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
n00b
 
steve325IS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Car:
Posts: 29
Photos:
steve325IS is an unknown quantity at this point
thanks for the reply..



Found out that I need to match up the FCC number and the Part Number. Do BOTH have to match up or just the Part Number. Because I found a remote with the same FCC # but a different part number??

ideas?
__________________
<img src='http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2004-6/749643/closer.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
steve325IS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 04:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
LOS
4th Gear Member
 
LOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: L.A Calif.
Car: 97 540IA, 95 840CI
Posts: 863
Photos:
LOS is an unknown quantity at this point
I don't know about numbers matching... sorry.

But the way it works is you put the chip in the receiver (alarm unit), push a button and wait a couple of seconds... Then you remove it and put the chip in the transmitter (remote unit) and it should work.


LOS
LOS is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Factory Alarm Zapak4eva 3-Series (E46, E90) 0 09-15-2005 11:26 AM
E36 328 Factory Alarm Problems Dayvg 3-Series (E36) 13 06-16-2005 07:24 AM
Factory Fitted Alarm smoker 3-Series (E36) 5 03-08-2004 11:40 AM
Funny thing about factory alarm mostwired 3-Series (E36) 9 01-26-2004 02:16 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.