BMW Werkz banner

E39 Washer jets - common problem?

25K views 8 replies 9 participants last post by  Granville 
#1 ·
Hi guys,
I'm a very happy E39 newbie who's chuffed with his latest purchase of a '99 528i Touring. Only prob is I seem to only get a small dribble from the windscreen washer jets (rear works fine). Have tried poking some fine wire down the jets, but no real difference. Do they clog up badly, or is there perhaps another common cause (ps. can hear the pump running OK, and there is plenty of liquid in both reservoirs).

Cheers,

Pete

#3 ·
My nozzles ended up getting completely clogged after getting wax in them. I removed them to clean and just ended up breaking the lines going to them...$40 for the nozzles and $200! for the lines (I've got to get into the plastic tubing business!!) See if they're clogged with contaminants or if any of the hoses are kinked...

#4 ·
RE Washer jets

I had the very same problem especially if it was very cold, The water freezes
expands and pops the t peice off the pipe, i've now put antifreeze in the washer bottle. You can get to the washer nozzle by pulling the flap under the bonnet and it's just a case of re connecting :D

#5 ·
Possible solution:

I had the same problem twice on my '97 528i. Both times, the line leading from the resevoir to the to the pump had become loose at the junction that lies on the passenger side of the car back near the windshield. The connector just pushes together and it had just worked itself apart. Hope this helps.:)

#6 ·
Usually mine become clogged by the wax I use when polishing - fortunately a good long 30-40 second blast usually clears them. If not a needle proggled down them may just release enough crap to let them squirt again.