E39 Business Radio Backlight Issue Solved - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) Chat relating to the BMW 5-Series of all generations. Specific models include: BMW 518, BMW 520, BMW 520i, BMW 530i, BMW 528i, BMW 530i, BMW 518i, BMW 524d, BMW 525i, BMW 525e, BMW 528e, BMW 540i, BMW 535i, BMW 520d, BMW 525td, BMW 525d, BMW 530d, BMW 525i/xi, BMW 530i/xi. (BMW 5-Series Forum)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 11-22-2010, 06:29 PM
n00b

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
robertan is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
E39 Business Radio Backlight Issue Solved

I'm a noob to BMW, so I've been soaking up great info in this forum to improve my '00 528i. Here's my chance to give back- I'm good w/radios and electronics (ham opr) and managed to fix my factory radio lamps; will share a few pointers about it here.

This is not about the lost/missing pixel issue- it's just about dim/dark areas in the display- I've seen many posts on both things. Fixing mine has made the center display of the vehicle look SO much nicer- big difference. Anyway, the orange LCD needs a backlight to work- radio provides this via 14 small incandescent lamps that stick thru a plastic shroud behind the display. In my case anyway, none of the lamps were burned out, they had just fallen off of the circuit board! They are attached by a "surface mount" technique with glue and solder, which failed over time from vibration and temp cycles.