coding plug/data question - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) Chat relating to the BMW 5-Series of all generations. Specific models include: BMW 518, BMW 520, BMW 520i, BMW 530i, BMW 528i, BMW 530i, BMW 518i, BMW 524d, BMW 525i, BMW 525e, BMW 528e, BMW 540i, BMW 535i, BMW 520d, BMW 525td, BMW 525d, BMW 530d, BMW 525i/xi, BMW 530i/xi. (BMW 5-Series Forum)

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 07-20-2008, 12:32 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
banjomike is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
coding plug/data question

If anyone can help, i would appreciate.
As you can see, I am in a bit over my head on this instrument problem.
So, I did unplug and remove the cluster.
Then replaced the same one.
The odometer, etc, does not readout any longer.
I did not do adequate research before diving in and now having questions about the coding So after purchasing a replacement 'used' cluster, how does the mileage get input so as to reflect the accurate mileage?
Is there a source other than the instrument LED that is recording vehicle mileage? Can it be "coded" into the replacement part?
How? Do I need to go to someone equipped with a diagnostic tool/computer capability?
Only thing I can find in Bentley is removal replacement of coding plug.
No explanations about the function or programming.
Any insight is greatly appreciated.
The reason I started this is that the LED readout was going caddywaumpus at times.
Thanks
Mike
banjomike is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 07-20-2008, 11:33 PM
5th Gear Member
 
darkhorse737's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
darkhorse737 is on a distinguished road
to my knowledge( so do not quote me on this), the odometers for 1995 year cannot be reset to read the same mileage. not even by the dealer.

what the dealer will do is reset the mileage to zero and affix a no-removable label reflecting the mileage at the time the cluster was replaced.

Last edited by darkhorse737; 07-20-2008 at 11:46 PM.
darkhorse737 is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 07-21-2008, 12:12 AM
5th Gear Member
 
darkhorse737's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
darkhorse737 is on a distinguished road
ADDENDUM: i also think that the coding plug is voltage-independent. Your best chance therefore, is to move your old coding plug to the new cluster. Good luck.
darkhorse737 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coding Plug Recoding jhob 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 1 05-12-2005 12:44 PM
Coding Keys derekredwards 3-Series (E46, E90) 0 01-12-2005 05:33 AM
Lousy Low End . . And Spark Plug Question 316 3-Series (E36) 2 10-19-2004 02:31 PM
Coding after new amplifier pothini Audio and Electronics 1 09-16-2003 10:37 AM
Coding after new amplifier Bjorgen 1,6,7,8 - Series and Mini Cooper 0 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome