BMW Werkz banner

To all BMW gurus . . . is this a good deal?

3K views 10 replies 7 participants last post by  goedhart 
#1 ·
Hello BMW Enthusiasts!

I am totally new to this board, and I am pretty new to BMW. My brother-in-law is in the process of purchasing a used car, and since I LOVE looking for cars, I am trying to find him a good deal.

First off, I would like to know whether or not the 1994 525i is a decently reliable car to drive. I hear that they can be VERY costly in repairs; however, I am hoping that the relaibility of a BMW would make up for that. Any thoughts on this issue? How would maintaining a car like this cost in comparison to other cars (such as an Audi or Infiniti)?

Anyways, my brother-in-law (BIL) was willing to spend $8000CAN before taxes. Some of the cars that I have been looking at are the Audi A4s, VW Passats, Infiniti I30s, Lexus ES300s, Acura 3.2TLs, and various others. My BIL doesn't have much extra money to spend in repairs, so I thought I would go with a more reliable Japanese car. However, then I stumbled across this BMW. At only $6500CAN, I figure that he could buy this car and put $1500CAN away as a slush fund to pay for repairs to the car.

Anyways, here is the ad that I came across. Please give your honest opinions on it, and tell me whether or not you think this would be a good car for my BIL. The smaller I6 engine is not a problem for him, as it is more the luxury than the speed that he wants. Anyways, please read the ad below:

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Year: 1994
Make: BMW
Model: 525I
Price: $6,500CAN ($4700US)
Mileage: 116000 km (72500 miles)
Ad Type: Private

1994 BMW 525I AUTOMATIC
Comment: For more pictures, please send me an email & I will send you a whole series. The car is in good condition. For any details, please call me or send me an email. Colour exterior: Oxford green metallic (dark green). Colour interior: Beige leather.