545 Cd Changer - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) Chat relating to the BMW 5-Series of all generations. Specific models include: BMW 518, BMW 520, BMW 520i, BMW 530i, BMW 528i, BMW 530i, BMW 518i, BMW 524d, BMW 525i, BMW 525e, BMW 528e, BMW 540i, BMW 535i, BMW 520d, BMW 525td, BMW 525d, BMW 530d, BMW 525i/xi, BMW 530i/xi. (BMW 5-Series Forum)

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 03-17-2005, 05:36 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Tcaos is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Has anyone put a cd/ Mp3 changer in a new 545? Is it prewired? I think it has to be programed once installed Please help?
Tcaos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 03-17-2005, 08:22 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
kscarrol is an unknown quantity at this point
Ordered my car with it, but you are correct, the iDrive, which handles the 6 disc changer needs to have the changer "activated" by the dealer. I'm afraid it is not just plug and play. As for the MP3, no go for now. A new software update later this year (very soon for non-Nav cars, later in the summer for Nav equipped cars) will give the E60 the ability to play MP3 audio.
kscarrol is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 03-18-2005, 12:34 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Tcaos is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Do you think I should wait until the new software comes out to buy the cd changer?
Do you know if the wiring is there on the 545?
Tcaos is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 03-18-2005, 02:11 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
kscarrol is an unknown quantity at this point
Yes I think the wiring is there. If not, I guess the dash has to come off to make the connection. Either way, best done by the dealer. You would have to go to them anyway to "activate" the changer so that it is recognized and operable in the iDrive.

As for waiting, no need, the software issue will take care of the MP3 playing, we won't have to go buy a new player to get the MP3 capability. It is only a software issue for the computer.
kscarrol is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 03-18-2005, 09:25 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Tcaos is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Thanks for your help. Do you know if a aftermarket Alpine would work? I put one in my X5. I believe this has fiber optics though?
Tcaos is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 03-18-2005, 11:45 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
kscarrol is an unknown quantity at this point
You bet. As for the Alpine, I don't know that, but I think you're right about the fiber optics. Being so new, I suspect getting any aftermarket equipment, other than speakers or an amp, to work might be difficult. The problem is the integration with the iDrive and using it to control the CD/radio functions. But I don't know for sure.
kscarrol is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 03-19-2005, 01:35 PM
Moderator
 
Dirty_Tool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Dirty_Tool has a reputation beyond repute Dirty_Tool has a reputation beyond repute Dirty_Tool has a reputation beyond repute Dirty_Tool has a reputation beyond repute Dirty_Tool has a reputation beyond repute Dirty_Tool has a reputation beyond repute Dirty_Tool has a reputation beyond repute Dirty_Tool has a reputation beyond repute Dirty_Tool has a reputation beyond repute Dirty_Tool has a reputation beyond repute Dirty_Tool has a reputation beyond repute
The cd changer for the e60 runs off of the fiber optic MOST bus. As far as I know there is nothing aftermarket at this time that will work. Coding is definitely necessary with this installation. The difficulty of the install isnt too bad, its basically 2 connections and it installs in the glovebox. It is pre-wired. The main thing is taking care with the fiber optic lines. And of course after you install it you will still need to take a trip to the dealer for coding.
DT

DT




Dirty_Tool is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 03-20-2005, 02:34 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Tcaos is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Thanks for the info. I guess I should just order the stock changer and install myself then get it prog.
Tcaos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E36 Cd Changer Help!! t-im Audio and Electronics 1 12-21-2004 11:06 AM
OEM changer and head unit mystery BobCT Audio and Electronics 4 08-04-2004 12:50 PM
alpine unit with Pioneer changer - not working BobCT Audio and Electronics 14 06-28-2004 11:48 AM
Installing MP3 Changer abooyeung 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 3 01-30-2004 04:45 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome