528e speedo sensor - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) Chat relating to the BMW 5-Series of all generations. Specific models include: BMW 518, BMW 520, BMW 520i, BMW 530i, BMW 528i, BMW 530i, BMW 518i, BMW 524d, BMW 525i, BMW 525e, BMW 528e, BMW 540i, BMW 535i, BMW 520d, BMW 525td, BMW 525d, BMW 530d, BMW 525i/xi, BMW 530i/xi. (BMW 5-Series Forum)

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 07-02-2008, 12:56 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
spivey is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
528e speedo sensor

I have an 82 528e that I am trying to install a Cyberdyne digital speedo in. The problem is that I am not getting anything from the stock speedo sender. How much voltage should it be supplying as the wheels spin? The car is on jackstand idling in first gear. I would think that there should be some voltage reading. What should the sender read ohms wise if it is ok? This is a project car for my daughter that has gotten way out of hand.
spivey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 07-02-2008, 05:48 PM
5th Gear Member
 
darkhorse737's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
darkhorse737 is on a distinguished road
Smile

there is are no given parameters for voltage or resistance for the speedo sending unit.

Since your digital speedo is new, and we assume it to be working, change the sending unit on the rear of the differential. However, if the speedo was working pre-installation of the digital speedo, then assume diff speedo sensor is working, and your problem is somewhere else ;-)
darkhorse737 is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 07-02-2008, 10:45 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
spivey is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Since I made the first post I contacted Cyberdyne's tech support. After being told several months ago that the gauge would work with the stock sender I was told today that it won't work in my application. My question now is can I take the stock speedo out of the original housing and run it without the other gauges. Here's another question can I take the two wires that are coming from the sender and send them directly to the pos. and neg. poles on the speedo? Will this trigger the speedo. I've got about $300 tied up in digital gauges and mounting panel so I'm trying to save as much of the work that I have already done as I can.
spivey is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 07-02-2008, 11:03 PM
5th Gear Member
 
darkhorse737's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
darkhorse737 is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb

My question now is can I take the stock speedo out of the original housing and run it without the other gauges. Here's another question can I take the two wires that are coming from the sender and send them directly to the pos. and neg. poles on the speedo? Will this trigger the speedo.<<<

... i am afraid the answer is NO. The wires you see from the sender are connected to an integrated circuit that provides for the voltage control; and uses the sender wires only to transmit pulses as a means to determine speed.

In my opinion, you should try an contact Cyberdyne and inquire about an altrernative sensor that may be used as a means to determine speed. (ie... ABS wheel sensors.)

* I am not 100% sure, but I believe some 7 series bimmers uses on the rear wheel abs sensor as a speed sensor as well... Even if not, it is worth exploring since the wheels sensors count the rate at which the wheels turn-a calculable basis for speed ;-)

Good Luck.

Last edited by darkhorse737; 07-02-2008 at 11:06 PM.
darkhorse737 is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 07-02-2008, 11:16 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
spivey is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Cyberdyne has sensors that replace a cable drive speedo for Ford and Chevy. I have the Getrag 5 speed. I don't think this trans had a cable drive to it. I was in hopes that I could modify one of these units but I don't think that is going to be an option.

Thanks for the info. I appreciate the help.
spivey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speedo help Please! rmousir 3-Series (E21, E30) 2 09-16-2007 08:03 PM
speedo SILVER 325 3-Series (E36) 0 03-12-2006 08:20 AM
Hesitiation.mass Airflow Sensor Or Cam Pos Sensor? scopefrfd 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 7 04-24-2005 12:47 PM
Upgraded Sensor To Reduce Motion Sensor rsn48 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 4 10-06-2004 03:44 PM
85 BMW 528E 528E Exhaust dragonforlife 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 4 06-14-2004 03:56 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome