BMW Werkz banner

How Hard Is It?

2K views 14 replies 7 participants last post by  e30fanm3 
#1 ·
I want to know if the oil filter on a 1989 318i is easily accesible and easy to replace. I think my engine is a M40.

#2 ·
B) the oil filter is just under and on the left side of the engine (when you face the car).
If you just crowl under your engine you should see it .

I once changed the oil and the oil filter on the 318 i of a friend.

real easy operation. takes like half an hour max. :wrench

#6 ·
Originally posted by e30fanm3@Mar 19 2005, 07:55 PM
just bustin his balls, i was a noob to the bimmer world at one time too and got my balls busted. thats how it goes
[snapback]314725[/snapback]​
Hey man, I was just asking because every car is different, I have changed the oil filter on all my cars and some of them were not that easy because the location they were in, I just wanted to now if it was easy to reach, that's all.

#7 ·
Originally posted by Gabrielpr12+Mar 19 2005, 01:46 PM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Gabrielpr12 @ Mar 19 2005, 01:46 PM)</div><div class='quotemain'><!--QuoteBegin-e30fanm3@Mar 19 2005, 07:55 PM
just bustin his balls, i was a noob to the bimmer world at one time too and got my balls busted. thats how it goes
[snapback]314725[/snapback]​
Hey man, I was just asking because every car is different, I have changed the oil filter on all my cars and some of them were not that easy because the location they were in, I just wanted to now if it was easy to reach, that's all.
[snapback]314794[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

couldn't you just look under the car? i love the M42 oil filter its just one nut and then you take the top of the container off and pull the filter out and its on top of the engine:) not under the car takes about 1 min flat.

#8 ·