Steptronic Transmission - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E46, E90) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1999 to Current. Models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318Ci, BMW 320i, BMW 323i, BMW 325i, BMW 330i, BMW 328 Ci, BMW 328i, BMW 325i/xi, BMW 330Ci, BMW 320d, BMW 330d, BMW 335d.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 11-28-2003, 10:52 AM
n00b

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
studio945 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
I am new to BMW with recent purchase of 2004 325 Cic. The steptronic transmission is fun but the gears change automatically in upshifting from first to second and from second to third. It definitely revs higher before the gear change than in normal drive or sport mode, but doesn't steptronic mean clutchless manual, i.e. that it should not change gears at all unless I tell it to?
Also, what is the difference between normal drive and sport mode (SD)?
Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 11-28-2003, 11:00 AM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!

lwebb12 has a reputation beyond repute lwebb12 has a reputation beyond repute lwebb12 has a reputation beyond repute lwebb12 has a reputation beyond repute lwebb12 has a reputation beyond repute lwebb12 has a reputation beyond repute lwebb12 has a reputation beyond repute lwebb12 has a reputation beyond repute lwebb12 has a reputation beyond repute lwebb12 has a reputation beyond repute lwebb12 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to lwebb12 Send a message via Yahoo to lwebb12
no steptronic is an automatic transmission. SMG is a manual without the clutch pedal that can be made to perform like an auto. The steptronic sport mode just lets the car shift at higher rpm's

Member 150+ MPH club
Member of the 3-Pedal club
Memebr BMW FORUMS V1 CLUB
JL Audio 13W7 in W7 pro wedge box powered by JL Audio 1000/1 slash series amp. JL Audio RBC. V1 hardwired.