remove speed limiter on 330Ci - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E46, E90) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1999 to Current. Models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318Ci, BMW 320i, BMW 323i, BMW 325i, BMW 330i, BMW 328 Ci, BMW 328i, BMW 325i/xi, BMW 330Ci, BMW 320d, BMW 330d, BMW 335d.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 06-21-2004, 10:54 AM
1st Gear Member
 
Ohrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ohrid is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Hey guys, I am new here, i ordered a 330Ci coupe 3 months ago, my dealer said it wil be comming in around October. I am from OZ. I think the 330Ci are limited to 250km/h. Is it possible to remove it without changing the ECU or chipping it or something? Whats the 330Ci top speed potential? any comments appreciated, Must admit, some very interesting and helpful topics and tips posted on this website. Tip top job!
Ohrid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 06-21-2004, 11:52 AM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
CiscoKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South Jersey, USA
Posts: 2,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
CiscoKid is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to CiscoKid
nope... u need to chip

CiscoKid is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 06-21-2004, 12:23 PM
2nd Gear Member
 
Mach 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Mach 5 has a reputation beyond repute Mach 5 has a reputation beyond repute Mach 5 has a reputation beyond repute Mach 5 has a reputation beyond repute Mach 5 has a reputation beyond repute Mach 5 has a reputation beyond repute Mach 5 has a reputation beyond repute Mach 5 has a reputation beyond repute Mach 5 has a reputation beyond repute Mach 5 has a reputation beyond repute Mach 5 has a reputation beyond repute
On the e46 BMW you do not need to physically replace a chip it is a software update. There are several out there Conforti's Shark injector and Dinans software being quality places to start your search. For an Aussie car though I do not know if there would be any unintentional sofware conflicts due to the MPH to KMP differance.
Ben

"It's not because I'm an aggressive driver, it's because I'm an idiot" actual quote from my wife.
Mach 5 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 06-21-2004, 01:40 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
el_bandito is an unknown quantity at this point
You ordered it 3 months ago and it won't arrive until October?

BMW - With great power comes great responsibility.
el_bandito is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 06-22-2004, 03:08 AM
3rd Gear Member
 
Mr White G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Midlands, UK
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Mr White G is an unknown quantity at this point
Simple reprogramming. Be careful using chips or piggyback ECU's.... they void warranty in the UK.

<span style='color:blue'>&quot;So my BM makes me a flash bastard? Then I guess you're just keeping it real from the seat of your nova?&quot;</span>

<span style='color:gray'>&quot;...and the home of the brave..... is bravey 130bhp from a 7 litre engine? 100bhp/litre or don't bother building it!&quot;</span>

<span style='color:red'>&quot;Aaahh the UK; where every road is jammed, under construction, poorly maintained and unfairly policed, at least we don't get over-taxed for it........ HA HA HA!&quot;</span>
Mr White G is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 06-22-2004, 03:10 AM
1st Gear Member
 
Ohrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ohrid is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally posted by el_bandito@Jun 21 2004, 02:20 PM
You ordered it 3 months ago and it won't arrive until October?
yeh, apparently its like a 6 month wait for an Individual BMW 330Ci here in OZ. Production supposedly starts June and then late July gets the Individual Treatement. and shipping is August/September and add another 3 weeks (thats what the dealer said) for shipping inspections. But he said it rarely takes that long, but i shuld be prepared and be adviced for any delays and such. Damn! I have been dying to get it. its soo frustrating waiting.
Ohrid is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 06-22-2004, 08:47 AM
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
schulman is an unknown quantity at this point
Yea, but think of how excited you'll be when you get the call saying that your car is waiting at the dealer! congrats man
schulman is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 06-22-2004, 09:47 AM
1st Gear Member
 
Ohrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ohrid is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally posted by schulman@Jun 22 2004, 09:27 AM
Yea, but think of how excited you'll be when you get the call saying that your car is waiting at the dealer! congrats man
Thanks dude, I know...i'll post some pics up for you guys when i get the car. as i see (i am a newy), the 330 is the most purchased car on this forum.
Ohrid is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 06-22-2004, 10:44 AM
1st Gear Member
 
Graphic Designer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: va beach
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Graphic Designer is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Graphic Designer
Quote:
Originally posted by el_bandito@Jun 21 2004, 02:20 PM
You ordered it 3 months ago and it won't arrive until October?
im sorry. id take one of the lot with the closest options. i wouldnt that car anymore. bc more options would be readily available and the new model would be out.

garpihc dseigenr
(sp)?
Graphic Designer is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 06-22-2004, 11:09 AM
n00b
 
xxg00chxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Tempe, Arizona USA
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
xxg00chxx is an unknown quantity at this point
I believe you would have either OBDIII or OBDIV in your new 330, so this is definitely a reprogrammable option. All OnBoard Diagnostics units from OBDII on are reprogrammable.

If you look hard enough, you can find the serial/USB cable adaptors that allow you to connect your cars OBD system to a PC - then it's just a matter of getting the software. This is where it gets expen$ive... and even if you have the money, the dealers and repair shops make it as difficult as possible for a consumer to obtain it.

It would have cost me well over $900 in software alone to reprogram the OBDII+ in my 97 F150 - had I not spent literally months searching channels on mIRC. :lol:

That being said, the control that you have with a full PC software solution is WELL worth the money IMHO. I ended up with control over all kinds of extra options that weren't available with the cheap over-the-counter reprogrammers you can buy at AutoZone. 1997 was the first year Ford unveiled their "enhanced" OBD+, which allowed electronic driveline adjustments as well... right down to the shift timings on those equipped with automatic transmission.

Sorry for the long ass post, but I wanted to share my experience with this since I no longer own a vehicle that has OBD to play with.

Bottom line, if you can, GET the fullblown software and cable set. You will not regret it, even if you have to spend the dough. I can't imagine the level of control you might have with a 3rd or 4th generation system, especially when it's from Bavaria!

Just my $0.02 - maybe more in this case LOL

g00ch

'88 325i cabrio
<a href='http://www.sicracing.com' target='_blank'><img src='http://members.cox.net/aaron.gochee/images/mycar/p4050007small.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' /></a>
xxg00chxx is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 06-23-2004, 08:04 AM
1st Gear Member
 
Ohrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ohrid is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
xxg00chxx,

Thanks for your input, and to everyone else as well, much appreciated fellas.
However, I get what your saying, but where on the net do i start looking for such a software? are there diffferent kinds of software for each car model, or each software is capable of reprograming and compatible with the OBD of any car.
Ohrid is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 06-23-2004, 09:39 AM
3rd Gear Member
 
Mr White G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Midlands, UK
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Mr White G is an unknown quantity at this point
The only way to go about it really is to find a local company who offers ecu mods and tuning and hand over your cash.

<span style='color:blue'>&quot;So my BM makes me a flash bastard? Then I guess you're just keeping it real from the seat of your nova?&quot;</span>

<span style='color:gray'>&quot;...and the home of the brave..... is bravey 130bhp from a 7 litre engine? 100bhp/litre or don't bother building it!&quot;</span>

<span style='color:red'>&quot;Aaahh the UK; where every road is jammed, under construction, poorly maintained and unfairly policed, at least we don't get over-taxed for it........ HA HA HA!&quot;</span>
Mr White G is offline  
#13 (permalink) Old 06-25-2004, 05:39 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BMW320TD is an unknown quantity at this point
Hello Ohrid !

The 330 i or 330 Ci without limiter runs only up to 255 km/h.
The automatic shift version only runs 245 km/h
BMW320TD is offline  
#14 (permalink) Old 06-25-2004, 09:15 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Ohrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ohrid is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
WOW! is that all?, unfortunatelly i hope ur right, it will save me time to not bother de-limiting it. I guess that solves that! thank heeps BMW320TD, and the rest of you guys for the input.
Ohrid is offline  
#15 (permalink) Old 07-04-2004, 05:40 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Qld, Australia
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
c43to330 is an unknown quantity at this point
Just thought I would post a pik of my newly purchased 2001 330ci. Love this car.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1390.jpg
Views:	226
Size:	135.9 KB
ID:	9733  
c43to330 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E46, E90)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Limiter superdeadman 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 17 11-16-2005 02:58 PM
Removing bmw speed limiter Amar90 3-Series (E46, E90) 13 08-25-2004 09:13 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome