M3 Cluster in my 3 Series - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E46, E90) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1999 to Current. Models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318Ci, BMW 320i, BMW 323i, BMW 325i, BMW 330i, BMW 328 Ci, BMW 328i, BMW 325i/xi, BMW 330Ci, BMW 320d, BMW 330d, BMW 335d.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 03-24-2004, 06:26 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Newport Beach, Ca
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Braymond is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Can't find anything on this. Anyone know if I can make it work properly? I installed it today, everything works cept these issues:

Speedo moves as if it was on the old gauge, so when im doing 60 the m3 cluster displays 80

Tach is a bit off too

and the traction control light is permently on and i cant hold the dsc button to get the brake to turn yellow.

Mileage isnt correct (can live without, i know how to do math, lol)

heres the cluster:


Came out of a 2000 M3

any help? If its not doable im just gonna jack the orange needles, but i really want this thing to work.

thanks

edit: I have a 2001 330i
-B

<a href='http://www.ipccomputers.org' target='_blank'>My 'in-progress' Business</a>
<img src='http://www.ipccomputers.org/DSC01118.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
2001 330i
Braymond is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 03-25-2004, 11:03 AM
2nd Gear Member
 
Mach 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Mach 5 has a reputation beyond repute Mach 5 has a reputation beyond repute Mach 5 has a reputation beyond repute Mach 5 has a reputation beyond repute Mach 5 has a reputation beyond repute Mach 5 has a reputation beyond repute Mach 5 has a reputation beyond repute Mach 5 has a reputation beyond repute Mach 5 has a reputation beyond repute Mach 5 has a reputation beyond repute Mach 5 has a reputation beyond repute
It sounds like some of the sensors need to be replaced as well as the guage. The speed sensor in the final drive needs to be changed to bring your speedo in line this should help your odometer also. The Tach may just be off it is not uncommon for a factory tach to be a little off (little 100-200 Rpm). The DSC was changed for the 2001 model year. On the 2000 there is not a 2 stage turn off procedure (no matter how long you hold that button down the brake light will not even blink). So the 2001 computer is sending a signal that the 2000 cluster cannot interperate so the light comes on telling you there is a fault. If you have the origional 2001 cluster still you may be able to swap some electronic modules and get the light to shut off.
Ben

&quot;It's not because I'm an aggressive driver, it's because I'm an idiot&quot; actual quote from my wife.
Mach 5 is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 03-30-2004, 05:27 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Logabyte is an unknown quantity at this point
Hi There

If you are still struggling with this, post here and I will write some solutions here for you.

Nad
Logabyte is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 03-30-2004, 12:08 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Newport Beach, Ca
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Braymond is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Struggling with it? It plain doesnt work right like so many people say it does.

The dealer wont flash it to say the correct mileage, the speedo doesnt produce the correct mph, and the tach is 200-300rpms off. No traction control features, oil temp gauge doesnt work....

what can you help me with?

<a href='http://www.ipccomputers.org' target='_blank'>My 'in-progress' Business</a>
<img src='http://www.ipccomputers.org/DSC01118.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
2001 330i
Braymond is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 03-30-2004, 04:56 PM
2nd Gear Member
 
Michael@EuroPersona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warwick, RI
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Michael@EuroPersona is an unknown quantity at this point
Try location an M3 a VSS (Vehicle speed sensor), and install that and see if that works. As for your RPM's you will need to have the gauges calibrated by someone.

**deleted** We do not allow commercial activity from non supporting vendors.
Michael@EuroPersona is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 03-30-2004, 05:07 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Newport Beach, Ca
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Braymond is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
okay, i dont want to put in a cluster and fix a couple things. The car has TWO mileage counters. One in the brain and one on the Cluster. If I can't get BMW to synch the two together it shows a tamper dot next the tripometer. I need the whole thing to work properly, as i do not want to void my warranty, nor do I want to have that tamper dot affect its resale.

Just forget i asked the question... Although if anyone has PROOF that BMW can in fact do the synch with the cluster (i already went to two dealers, got no's) I would love to know the details.

-B

<a href='http://www.ipccomputers.org' target='_blank'>My 'in-progress' Business</a>
<img src='http://www.ipccomputers.org/DSC01118.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
2001 330i
Braymond is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 03-30-2004, 05:19 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UMBC, Maryland
Posts: 2,329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
woobiee has a reputation beyond repute woobiee has a reputation beyond repute woobiee has a reputation beyond repute woobiee has a reputation beyond repute woobiee has a reputation beyond repute woobiee has a reputation beyond repute woobiee has a reputation beyond repute woobiee has a reputation beyond repute woobiee has a reputation beyond repute woobiee has a reputation beyond repute woobiee has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to woobiee
theres SOO much to modify for this to work. the oil temp meter on the tach for example, or the oil temp replacing your MPG meter. Not to mention calibration and such.

If you want the needles, you can most likely jack them. If not, use a red sharpie and color your stock white ones. I did that to mine...check my sig:
woobiee is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 03-30-2004, 08:19 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Newport Beach, Ca
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Braymond is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)


you mean like this :wink



:P

<a href='http://www.ipccomputers.org' target='_blank'>My 'in-progress' Business</a>
<img src='http://www.ipccomputers.org/DSC01118.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
2001 330i
Braymond is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 03-31-2004, 05:33 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Logabyte is an unknown quantity at this point
Braymond

Where in the world are you? There will be a way to make this work. The most obvious solution is to flash the M3 cluster with your 330CI cluster, this may resolve the problem although I doubt it. I am suprised that the cluster did not work correctly, this only proves that the sensors on the M3 (Speedo) is different.

Actually, there are four memories in the new 2001 onwards BMW;

1. Cluster
2. LKM (Light Control Module - Stores in blocks of 100Km)
3. EWS (Alarm Control Module)
4. Keys (Syncronised with the EWS)

I can re-program your cluster and re-sync everything back up again to factory spec.

If the mileage on the cluster is less than what is in the other memories, all the other memories stop counting up, until the cluster catches back up again with the other memories.
Logabyte is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 03-31-2004, 12:59 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Newport Beach, Ca
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Braymond is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
I'm in Newport Beach, California. How would you flash the cluster? And yes i know the speed sensor would need to be changed.

Just curious where you are getting the things to flash the cluster? Do you work for BMW?

-B

<a href='http://www.ipccomputers.org' target='_blank'>My 'in-progress' Business</a>
<img src='http://www.ipccomputers.org/DSC01118.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
2001 330i
Braymond is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 04-03-2004, 02:27 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Newport Beach, Ca
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Braymond is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
bump

<a href='http://www.ipccomputers.org' target='_blank'>My 'in-progress' Business</a>
<img src='http://www.ipccomputers.org/DSC01118.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
2001 330i
Braymond is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 04-04-2004, 11:07 AM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Grand Canyon State
Posts: 2,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
AZ325Ci is on a distinguished road
BMW Service can re-program your cluster in order for it to work. I am not sure if all of the lights will be able to work tho, especially the ones in the tach.

AZ325Ci is offline  
#13 (permalink) Old 04-04-2004, 01:00 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Newport Beach, Ca
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Braymond is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Like I said before, BMW wont do it.

<a href='http://www.ipccomputers.org' target='_blank'>My 'in-progress' Business</a>
<img src='http://www.ipccomputers.org/DSC01118.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
2001 330i
Braymond is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E46, E90)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2005 3/4 SERIES NEWS Mr White G Bimmer Talk/Motorsports Talk 6 07-27-2004 01:15 PM
2000 m3 Guage cluster... m3 or 3 series? Braymond Classifieds Sell & Buy 3 04-06-2004 05:04 PM
Official launch of the BMW 1-series AZ325Ci Bimmer Talk/Motorsports Talk 8 03-29-2004 10:07 PM
93-99 3 series stock amber corner lights and Misc HomeSlice Classifieds Sell & Buy 0 11-25-2003 03:21 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome