BMW Werkz banner

looking at a 2001 325xi

2K views 12 replies 7 participants last post by  Bretthol 
#1 ·
Hello,

This is the first time I have posted on this forum. I am looking at purchasing a 2001 325xi. If anyone has any input for the car, I am all ears. I have talked with the owner and he is the first and only owner of the car. He has done synthetic oil changes and has an extra set of rims to go with the car for the winter. This thing is a loaded model. He did give me a heads up, the car has 48k mi. and has had the window regulators replaced. He told me that he thinks there is a BMW recommended service interval around 60k mi., so that is approaching. Also, anyone know what a clutch job costs on that? Also, I am a son of a mechanic who owns his own shop so would there be anyway of doing some of the work if I could get the service manuals without having to buy special BMW tools? I think the car is great and it won't give me as many problems as domestic brands will (I hope). If there is anything anyone wants to add, oh yea, my insurance (for a 23, year old with 2 small speeding tickets-10 over the speed limit), I have heard of the Progressive solution, but they are still as high as cheech and chong with their numbers. Let me know, everyone here seems cool, and I like the member with the animated flashing pic, way2go, very nice! Also I am in the western states and will be shipping the car from out east if I buy, anyone know of a good transport company?

Thanks, I guess I wrote a novel, oh well, I assume hooked on phonics worked for everyone!

:poke

See less See more
#3 ·
Welcome aboard Bretthol!! B)

I'll take up your insurance question and tell you it will be high being under 25 because you are in a high risk category plus those speeding ticks aren't going to help either..search for an insurance broker that can find the best deal for you and stay away fron name brand companies such as Allstate, Geico, and Progressive..