BMW Werkz banner

Loan Vs. Lease

2K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  skawful 
#1 ·
Hey everyone, Im looking into the 325ci and the CLK 320. Im favoring the BMW because of price, I can afford the Benz but im probably overly cautious and dont want to dig myself in a whole incase I lose my job or anything else.

That being the intro, this is my first car and looking at loan vs lease, is there anything I should be aware of that a new buyer might not think about? I was thinking 39 month lease, 7 or 8 down.

Thanks in advance for the help.

#2 ·
i think lease's have a tax benifit, where as a load doesn't. couldnt' tell u for sure tho. i heard that

#4 ·
Most lease companies will require you to carry higher limits of liability than on a loan; on a loan they don't care what your liability limits are. They also may require a policy in your name. Excuse my technical stuff, i'm an insurance agent :D In english it means Leases are a bigger pain in the ass than loans, so check with your auto insurance on it first...you may already have a policy that would satisfy the lease, or if not it may not be a big price increase. At any rate, you should check with your company on it first.

#5 ·
Actually even Loan companies require some liability limits. My company stipulated no more than 500$ deductable on the car and no basic liability. But other than that it all good. Heres my take on lease/loan

Lease: Pros: Low monthly; dont have to put lotsa money down; can trade in car to dealer when done pretty easy

cons: cannot do ANY mods; limited milage; basically they tell yu how yu can drive the vehicle---not good; lotsa document hassles; you take in all the depreciation when yu trade in; high refinancing rates if yu actually want to buy the vehicle later.

Loan: Pros: everything that is con with Lease. ITS YOUR CAR.