Instrument Cluster Swap E46 - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E46, E90) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1999 to Current. Models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318Ci, BMW 320i, BMW 323i, BMW 325i, BMW 330i, BMW 328 Ci, BMW 328i, BMW 325i/xi, BMW 330Ci, BMW 320d, BMW 330d, BMW 335d.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 11-08-2008, 01:47 PM
n00b
 
acon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
acon is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Instrument Cluster Swap E46

Hi Guys (and gals if you're reading)! If I swap my original 325i instrument cluster for an 330i cluster, would this affect the mileage reading?

I wouldn't think so since I believe the cluster functions as a information display unit, but I don't want it to look like I tampered with the mileage. The 330i cluster has red needles and trim which really look cool. Thanks!
acon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 11-08-2008, 02:44 PM
drz
Administrator
 
drz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tee Ex
Posts: 12,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to drz Send a message via MSN to drz
As I understand it, the cluster has its own memory, but so does teh engine management system. You will need to have the cluster updated to match/sync up. I think only the dealership can do this. Not quite sure

drz is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 11-10-2008, 10:12 AM
n00b
 
acon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
acon is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Hmmm, think I'll just swap the needles then if I might have to go through all that. Thanks drz!!
acon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E46, E90)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Instrument cluster help triniskunt 3-Series (E21, E30) 14 10-11-2007 03:50 PM
Instrument cluster PMB 3-Series (E46, E90) 2 08-31-2004 09:25 AM
instrument cluster RSBETHEL 3-Series (E36) 0 08-08-2004 06:04 PM
Instrument cluster sp0rky 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 13 02-06-2004 12:52 PM
new instrument cluster. hodges 3-Series (E36) 7 05-30-2003 07:49 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome