Instrument Cluster Questions - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E46, E90)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E46, E90) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1999 to Current. Models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318Ci, BMW 320i, BMW 323i, BMW 325i, BMW 330i, BMW 328 Ci, BMW 328i, BMW 325i/xi, BMW 330Ci, BMW 320d, BMW 330d, BMW 335d.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2005, 03:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
PMB
1st Gear Member
 
PMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Isle of Man
Car:
Posts: 200
Photos:
PMB is an unknown quantity at this point
I have been told that I need a new instrument cluster. Before I spend the $600 I have nothing to lose by trying to fix the old one. In order to do this I need to separate the PCB from the dial part.

Firstly, once inside the instrument cluster, how do I remove the dial needles? I have tried gently pulling on them but to no avail. This must be quite simple and I am sure many of you have removed them to put white dials in.

Secondly, if I do end up having to buy a new cluster the dealser said that it has to be coded to the car. Now the milage and service interval are stored on the main CPU, everything else just resets itsself. This being the case what is to code?
PMB is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-20-2005, 08:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
exjarhead328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: central ct
Car:
Posts: 208
Photos:
exjarhead328 is an unknown quantity at this point
When I was considering installing new gauge faces the kit I saw at bav auto came with a special tool to remove the needles, maybe you can try to buy one from them.
__________________
SEMPER FI 2/3 Comm
Founder of the Four Pedal Club
2000 328

__________________
exjarhead328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2005, 08:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: indianapolis, Indiana
Car:
Posts: 280
Photos:
bryan1970 is an unknown quantity at this point
the cluster has to be coded to the car it can be rigidly coded to the car which it will take the VIN and program it to the car. it basically needs to be coded with the information from the car and the CPU needs to have the code from the cluster so it will reconize the cluster and send it information. without coding the cluster will not work
bryan1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2005, 10:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
PMB
1st Gear Member
 
PMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Isle of Man
Car:
Posts: 200
Photos:
PMB is an unknown quantity at this point
So the instrument cluster will not work unless coded to the specific car?

Seems a bit odd, it is only an information center after all.
PMB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2005, 11:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: indianapolis, Indiana
Car:
Posts: 280
Photos:
bryan1970 is an unknown quantity at this point
well it can be just coded to the car and that makes it able to be out in another car and recoded but it still has to be coded to work. it is more than just an information center. it has a lot more to do with your car than just showing you the speed,gas,and rpm. it has information BUS lines comunicating with it and the rest of the car. it is basically a control module just like a DME or Transmission control module. of course it doesn't do the same operations as the others but it is just as inportant if not more.
bryan1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E46, E90)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: E39,E38,X5 Instrument Cluster Speedometer nit78 Classifieds Sell & Buy 1 09-14-2009 09:19 AM
Instrument Cluster Wiring spinkb 3-Series (E21, E30) 6 03-06-2005 08:39 AM
Digital Instrument Cluster komodo 3-Series (E36) 5 08-17-2004 05:41 PM
Instrument cluster removal shaman97 3-Series (E21, E30) 5 07-01-2004 03:13 PM
new instrument cluster. hodges 3-Series (E36) 7 05-30-2003 07:49 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.