Idling,check engine and Same Freaking Code!!!!!!!! - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E46, E90) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1999 to Current. Models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318Ci, BMW 320i, BMW 323i, BMW 325i, BMW 330i, BMW 328 Ci, BMW 328i, BMW 325i/xi, BMW 330Ci, BMW 320d, BMW 330d, BMW 335d.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 01-28-2010, 12:37 PM
n00b
 
dcuse32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
dcuse32 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Angry Idling,check engine and Same Freaking Code!!!!!!!!

Hi, I have had the same problem for the past year. I have a 2000 BMW 328ci and Once in a while my check engine light will come on and I will notice that my car has erratic idling. I have a code reader and every time i do a diagnostic check it always says the same thing...Cam shaft sensor(intake side). the problem is I have replaced this sensor two times. I have even changed the cam shaft sensor in the exhaust side. Also after i reset the codes it will run fine until the next time i try to start the car. It will start but it takes longer to start then normal. It will also have hesitation while accelerating and at stop lights have erratic idling. I was told by Auto zone that it could be the camshaft sensor or the timing chain..Obviously its not the sensor but could it be the timing chain? or is it some thing else?.....Someone PLease Help!
dcuse32 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 01-28-2010, 12:42 PM
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
marti5 is on a distinguished road
Did you use genuine BMW sensors...if you did then they should be fine if however you didnt.......

VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!
marti5 is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 01-28-2010, 01:15 PM
n00b
 
dcuse32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
dcuse32 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
I didnt. I bought them through pelican parts. Would that make a difference?
dcuse32 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 01-29-2010, 03:58 AM
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
marti5 is on a distinguished road
Yes, I purchased two non genuine camshaft sensors a couple of years ago and they both failed after around two months, I had camshaft error come up and thought cant be, so I went to BM, popped it in and hey presto....worked perfect, also avoid aftermarket MAF's they are way out.

VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!
marti5 is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 01-29-2010, 11:30 AM
n00b
 
dcuse32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
dcuse32 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Yeah but I just put a new one in last week and this is happening again. That why i was wondering if it could be something else.
dcuse32 is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 01-29-2010, 12:00 PM
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
marti5 is on a distinguished road
Just checking....you did clear the code after fitting the new one?

VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!
marti5 is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 01-29-2010, 01:19 PM
n00b
 
dcuse32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
dcuse32 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Yeah, I clear the code every time it do it and without fail the same code comes up 41, which is camshaft sensor (intake side).
dcuse32 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E46, E90)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Check Engine Fault Code P1188 little jack 3-Series (E36) 6 10-30-2008 07:32 PM
check engine issues 1221 code seven 3-Series (E36) 10 03-26-2008 11:32 AM
Check Engine Code Wrong...what's The Deal? bimerguyCW 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 1 07-03-2005 04:35 PM
Check Engine Light Code P1447 Pauls BMW 3-Series (E46, E90) 0 05-03-2005 01:33 PM
Check Engine Light: Code--e9 mathetas 3-Series (E36) 1 12-26-2004 08:38 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome