How do I wire Angel Eyes without a relay? - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E46, E90)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E46, E90) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1999 to Current. Models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318Ci, BMW 320i, BMW 323i, BMW 325i, BMW 330i, BMW 328 Ci, BMW 328i, BMW 325i/xi, BMW 330Ci, BMW 320d, BMW 330d, BMW 335d.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2009, 10:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
n00b
 
rockblock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Car: 325i/2001
Posts: 34
Photos:
rockblock is on a distinguished road
How do I wire Angel Eyes without a relay?

OK, so I got this set of CCFL Angel Eyes as a gift (4 rings + 4 clips + 2 inverters), but NO relay, NO fuse...

All the DIY threads on this topic that I've found thus far show how to connect the rings using a relay...but what about if you don't have a relay? On the inverter it says (-) to ground and (+) power from DRL, so how exactly do I do that...open the ECU box and tap the (+) into the red/white + yellow stripe wire?...if yes, would that also dim my Angel Eyes to 30% power, as per the DRL?

Any help with wiring these without a relay would be greatly appreciated.
Thx
rockblock is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-10-2009, 12:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Festivus yes, bagels no..
 
yammahamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SL,UT
Car: '01 330i
Posts: 2,991
Photos:
yammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via Yahoo to yammahamma
I chose not to wire mine to the DRL becuase they turn off when the headlights are on. I don't know why you'd want your angel eye on in the day and off at night.

I wired mine to the red accessory wire in the ECU (I also didn't have a relay). I like this because my angel eye's are always on when the car is on...and they even stay on for 5-10 seconds after the car is off, which I think is kinda cool.

Some people don't like the idea of not being able to turn the AE off so they wire them into the fog lights so you can manually turn the AE's on when you turn on the fogs.

Here's the DIY that I followed. However, my inverters wouldn't fit into the same spot that this guy did so I had to mount them somewhere else.

DIY: Fucy626 CCFL Angel Eye Kit installation - BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3)
__________________
yammahamma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 11:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
n00b
 
rockblock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Car: 325i/2001
Posts: 34
Photos:
rockblock is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by yammahamma View Post
I wired mine to the red accessory wire in the ECU (I also didn't have a relay). I like this because my angel eye's are always on when the car is on...and they even stay on for 5-10 seconds after the car is off, which I think is kinda cool.

DIY: Fucy626 CCFL Angel Eye Kit installation - BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3)
I love this idea !!!...just have the following questions:

The pic with the ECU box shows just one set of wires going in

1. Did you connect the (-) AE wire to the same chassis screw?
2. Did you tap both AE (+) wires (L+R) to the same red aux wire in ECU? Did you just cut the red aux wire and used a 4-way connector (2 for L+R AE and 2 for ECU aux wire)?

Thx
rockblock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 11:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Festivus yes, bagels no..
 
yammahamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SL,UT
Car: '01 330i
Posts: 2,991
Photos:
yammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via Yahoo to yammahamma
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockblock View Post
1. Did you connect the (-) AE wire to the same chassis screw?
I used the same chassis screw as the DIY did. I ran a single wire from that screw and then butt spliced the two (-) AE wires into that one wire.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockblock View Post
2. Did you tap both AE (+) wires (L+R) to the same red aux wire in ECU?
I tapped a single wire with a 10 amp in-line fuse into the red wire and then ran it out of the ECU. Once outside the ECU I butt spliced both (+) AE wires into this wire.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rockblock View Post
Did you just cut the red aux wire and used a 4-way connector (2 for L+R AE and 2 for ECU aux wire)?
I used the same tap in splice connector that the DIY used.


Hope that helped. Let me know if you have any more questions.
__________________
yammahamma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 11:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
n00b
 
rockblock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Car: 325i/2001
Posts: 34
Photos:
rockblock is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by yammahamma View Post
I used the same chassis screw as the DIY did. I ran a single wire from that screw and then butt spliced the two (-) AE wires into that one wire.

I tapped a single wire with a 10 amp in-line fuse into the red wire and then ran it out of the ECU. Once outside the ECU I butt spliced both (+) AE wires into this wire.

I used the same tap in splice connector that the DIY used.

Hope that helped. Let me know if you have any more questions.
Thx for your prompt response...just a few final clarifications:

1. Does it have to be 10 amp, or will other values do? do you find that the 10 amps creates a load that dimms your AE a little?

2. is the ECU red wire that you tapped into pulling power straight from the battery?

Thx again for all your help, I'll try this setup

Last edited by rockblock; 07-10-2009 at 11:58 AM.
rockblock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 01:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Festivus yes, bagels no..
 
yammahamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SL,UT
Car: '01 330i
Posts: 2,991
Photos:
yammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via Yahoo to yammahamma
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockblock View Post
1. Does it have to be 10 amp, or will other values do?
I don't know. After a lot of research someone recommended using a 10 amp fuse to avoid frying something else...I just followed the advice because I didn't know any better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockblock View Post
do you find that the 10 amps creates a load that dimms your AE a little?
I haven't noticed them to be any dimmer. When I first tested them out I hooked them straight to the battery and they seem just as bright using the 10 amp fuse. I HAVEN'T compared them side by side, so I can't say for sure if one is brighter than the other.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockblock View Post
2. is the ECU red wire that you tapped into pulling power straight from the battery?
I don't know, sorry.
__________________
yammahamma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 01:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
n00b
 
rockblock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Car: 325i/2001
Posts: 34
Photos:
rockblock is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by yammahamma View Post
I don't know. After a lot of research someone recommended using a 10 amp fuse to avoid frying something else...I just followed the advice because I didn't know any better.

I haven't noticed them to be any dimmer. When I first tested them out I hooked them straight to the battery and they seem just as bright using the 10 amp fuse. I HAVEN'T compared them side by side, so I can't say for sure if one is brighter than the other.

I don't know, sorry.
Ok, thx for your help & very useful feedback !
rockblock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 04:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Festivus yes, bagels no..
 
yammahamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SL,UT
Car: '01 330i
Posts: 2,991
Photos:
yammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via Yahoo to yammahamma
Good luck dude. AE's have been my fave cosmetic upgrade so far.

Lemme know if you need any more help.
__________________
yammahamma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 05:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mr. Clean
 
BimmerE39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Danbury, Connecticut
Car: Titanium Silver E39 / 2011 BMW M3
Posts: 1,817
Photos:
BimmerE39 will become famous soon enough
Garage
I did an install with Umnitza's DRL harness not too long ago. I know you're asking without a relay but for $40 with shipping I think it's worth it.

There's a thread on here in the DIY section and I put a video on YouTube. It's pretty easy.
Click Here To View Thread


However, they were originally wired to my parking lights.
__________________

Last edited by BimmerE39; 07-10-2009 at 05:30 PM.
BimmerE39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 09:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
n00b
 
rockblock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Car: 325i/2001
Posts: 34
Photos:
rockblock is on a distinguished road
Thx for the video, very useful, even though I don't have a relay...

I was wondering: If I want to introduce an extra fuse on the (+) wire between the battery and inverter, what fuse should I use? My AE specs says it accepts 5A, while the inverter 0.85A...so, what amp value am I looking at? (I looked for a 10A glass fuse as per yammahamma, but all I could find were the following fuses: 2,4,8,15,25 & 30A)
rockblock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 11:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Festivus yes, bagels no..
 
yammahamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SL,UT
Car: '01 330i
Posts: 2,991
Photos:
yammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to beholdyammahamma is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via Yahoo to yammahamma
I used a regular blade fuse like this:

__________________
yammahamma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 08:15 AM   #12 (permalink)
n00b
 
rockblock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Car: 325i/2001
Posts: 34
Photos:
rockblock is on a distinguished road
OK, thx...I was looking for a glass fuse as they are smaller, but I guess the blade one will do. Thx again for your prompt response !
rockblock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 09:49 PM   #13 (permalink)
n00b
 
rockblock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Car: 325i/2001
Posts: 34
Photos:
rockblock is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by yammahamma View Post
I used a regular blade fuse like this:

Hi, I managed to install my CCFL AE and also used a blade fuse...but I measured the current and all 4 rings together pull 1.4A, so I went with a 3A fuse and works great...the specs say 850mA/inverter, but I noticed that they actually pull a bit less (700mA each), which is good...just thought you should know...cheers !
rockblock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 09:58 PM   #14 (permalink)
Mr. Clean
 
BimmerE39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Danbury, Connecticut
Car: Titanium Silver E39 / 2011 BMW M3
Posts: 1,817
Photos:
BimmerE39 will become famous soon enough
Garage
Thanks for the update. Glad they're working the way you want.
__________________
BimmerE39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 02:21 AM   #15 (permalink)
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Car: E38 1997 728i Individual
Posts: 3,242
Photos:
marti5 is on a distinguished road
Bimmer 39,

I see you don't have any inverters for the A/E's,you just wire in to the new harness is this correct ? , also do you have the web site for the harness as we are unable to get these here in the UK.

Also I see on the picture of the harness there's only one cable to the passengers side I presume this is +, so do you have to find a separate ground?

Mine are set up to the parking lights with an inverter on each side so is it possible to undertake what you have done with the harness.

Cheers,

Marti.
__________________
VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!
marti5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E46, E90)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
angel eyes BMikeW3 3-Series (E46, E90) 4 12-18-2008 08:32 PM
Angel Eyes X37V1234 Looking For 1 04-29-2005 12:23 AM
X5 Angel Eyes KidCapriX5 1,6,7,8 - Series and Mini Cooper 3 07-19-2004 03:16 PM
Angel Eyes iantosca 3-Series (E36) 24 05-23-2004 09:46 AM
angel Eyes ;0 tisinotjon 3-Series (E36) 5 03-07-2004 10:52 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.