BMW Werkz banner

Heavy clutch

14K views 22 replies 9 participants last post by  sonspot 
#1 ·
Just boought a preowned 2006 325i with stick shift, I am new to the stick shift and learned and practiced over the weekend. I felt the clutch was exceedingly heavy, much heavier than the brake and gas, somewhat tiring to step it in and out over time. Is this kind of stiff clutch normal for a BMW? and can it be adjusted? Thanks a lot.

#2 ·
coming from an auto to manual can be hard on the leg as your not use to it, if its that hard to push down it can be adjusted, dealer or indie are the best places as the car has to be raised in the air.

#4 ·
Not to many revs, you basically let the clutch up slowley whilst you rev gently, when you get the hang of it you will be able to do faster and hold it on a hill with just clutch & revs and no brake applied.

Good luck, luckly over here we have more manuals than auto's so you learn to drive in a manual,when you pass your test in entitles you to drive both, but if you take a test in an auto you are NOT permitted to drive a manual

#12 · (Edited)
......and hold it on a hill with just clutch & revs and no brake applied......
And this Will kill your clutch BTW.... just use the brakes.... that is what they were designed for..... And Cheaper and easyer to replace....

#6 ·
after you master the clutch, you should remove the CDV.

#14 ·
^ yep and it can make parallel parking a PITA

#15 ·
your all assuming his clutch is ok, its an 06 so i'll assume the owner took care of the car,. as for learning first start off on a flat driveway or parking lot, this way you can find out where the clutch engage. have the car in 1st ease of the clutch until the car starts to move.

this is your first 5sp am not sure if would matter if you removed the cvd, either remove it now or forget about it, with the cvd remove the clutch will grab faster thats it.