BMW Werkz banner

First time buyer, need advice please

2K views 4 replies 3 participants last post by  brettski 
#1 ·
Hello, I'm a small time business owner that is currently driving a tired, beat up 1999 explorer xlt, with door locks that dont work, and seats that are uncomfortable.

I was searching for a new used car for under 6000 today ,and came across a 2002 BMW 325i Sport. It has 136000 miles and is automatic. The person said it was purchased at 56k as a Certified Pre Owned from a BMW dealership.

I need a car that is a reliable daily driver. I can do normal maintenace, and some swap suspensions, and do minor engine repairs.. sensors, evap units, tb's... just not clutch/trans or internal motor work.

MY question is are BMW's reliable with higher mileage? Reliability is huge for me. Are there any other makes/models I should look for, and are there any common problems with these cars?

Thanks for the help in advance.

#2 ·
Welcome to Bimmerwerkz!

A BMW is as reliable as any ther car really as long as all the maintenance is done properly. I have 262,000 km on my 1998 328i. And if I hadn't switched it to my summer car I would have close to 300,000 on it. You said you can do all most all the maintenance the car will need so you should be fine.

The cooling system on the E36samd early E46 was notorious for failure. The reason was BMW used plastic parts which became brittle and cracked. Most people recommend inspecting the cooling system and if the thermostat housing and water pump are still original to replace them. It's not very difficult to do ad it will save headaches later. When the water pump on the E36 failed, it failed with spectacular fashion destroying the fan ad sending broken bits throughout the engine bay. The Rear Trailing Arm Bushings (RTAB) and Rear Shock Mounts (RSM) are wearable parts and do need replacement over time.

Once you drive the car you will probably fall in love with it. Most people have.

#3 ·