Breaking in new bmw - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E46, E90) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1999 to Current. Models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318Ci, BMW 320i, BMW 323i, BMW 325i, BMW 330i, BMW 328 Ci, BMW 328i, BMW 325i/xi, BMW 330Ci, BMW 320d, BMW 330d, BMW 335d.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 05-31-2004, 11:55 PM
n00b

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
J325ci04 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Hey every1 I'm new to the BMW world. I will hopefully have my new 04' 325ci tommorow. I'm real excited. I was just looking for some advice on the proper way to break in the new car and any other advice anyone has for a newbie to a bimmer. thanx any comments are greatly appreciated.

-Jay
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 05-31-2004, 11:59 PM
5th Gear Member

Silver4evr is an unknown quantity at this point
Nice ride. Post some pics when you have time.

There are some previous posts on this topic with many different opinions. My advice is to read your manually carefully and follow its requirements. Talk to the service manager at your dealer for some good add'l info.

Take it easy. Vary your speed as much as possible. Don't use the cruise control. Don't drive for long periods of time at the same speed. Don't floor it from a standing start. Don't go over 100mph. Remember, you're also breaking in the trany, suspension, brakes, etc. besides the motor.

I took my ride from 30 to 80 pretty quickly several times but mostly kept my foot out of it. I did try to drive on various types of roads (street, hiway,freeway) as much as possible. Also took different routes to work and back home. Planned several medium drives. Took it for a spin on the freeway several times just to drive at different speeds.

Good luck.

2004 E60 530is, Delivered 12/12/03, TiSilver/LGrey, PP, SP,PS, PDC, ACC, FRS, Step, Xenons, clear bra, body colored rear inserts. (Retired, 1983 henna red 320is)