Automatic Transmission Maintenance - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E46, E90) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1999 to Current. Models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318Ci, BMW 320i, BMW 323i, BMW 325i, BMW 330i, BMW 328 Ci, BMW 328i, BMW 325i/xi, BMW 330Ci, BMW 320d, BMW 330d, BMW 335d.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 05-10-2012, 10:43 PM
n00b

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
mpowers is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Automatic Transmission Maintenance

I own a 2011 328i with the steptronic automatic transmission. I'm wondering what a reasonable maintenance schedule is for this car. I'm not buying the 'lifetime" auto trans fluid line - it is coming from the same people who are in the business of selling new BMWs.

What is a reasonable service interval for changing the fluid? Can the fluid be flushed at shorter intervals without also changing the filter?? I'm not a mechanic - I'm actually dangerous with tools!!! But I am a firm believer in preventive maintenance and am willing to pay along the way (I'll find an independent BMW mechanic) in order to keep the car running a lot longer.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 05-11-2012, 06:24 AM
n00b

obby is on a distinguished road
most transmissions do not have a drain plug. You have to take dowm the pan and change the gasket. There is also a filter that can be cleaned or changed. It's not like an oil change.

#3 (permalink) Old 05-11-2012, 03:17 PM
4DoorWhore

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Lord Vader is on a distinguished road
The "lifetime fluid" claim was originated in the early 90's. BMW made more money off replacing your transmission or torque converter then replacing the fluid and filter. Even considering the cost of the BMW fluid, its astronomical.