BMW Werkz banner

2003 330i ZHP should i purchase?!

2K views 12 replies 7 participants last post by  RexKing86 
#1 ·
So here's the story, I've been shopping for a 2003 325i 5-speed (bmw is having great incentives now on '03's). So after calling 20 dealerships, i FINALLY found ONE 325i and went and test drove it. Frankly, i was disappointed in the stick, the throws seemed long, the clutch soft. So, i decided to bite the bullet and go with the auto (that's a HUGE change for me). Anyway... i get a call 10 minutes after leaving the dealer from another dealer saying that 5-speed was litterly just dropped off (lease finished). So i drive over there expecting a 325i... However, what awaited me was a 330i ZHP. Granted i didn't know what this was, and my first thought was - i'm not paying 6k more for a car in manual that i wasn't impressed with (don't get me wrong, 3'series are great, just not thrilled with the tranny). So he says, you just have to take this out and see........... and wholly cow. That's what i was looking for - the short throws, the stronger engine. The stick the ground handleing... anyway ... i'm sure you all get the point - but this is all very new for me and a big purchase...

SOO... the car

2003 330i ZHP, titanium silver, Nav, H/K stereo. 25k miles = $32.9 list price

i was planning on finding a $27 car and negotiing them down - but i'm now trying to decide if i can afford the extra $6k for that awsome machine -

there is a question here, i promise.... so, my question is- first off, is $32.9k a good price? what do you think i could get them down to? also, am i going to run into alot more service problems with this car? tires have gotta be crap load more expensive, clutch wear? does it really make a difference? has anyone had any issues with the ZHP?

the car will be ready from servicing on thursday and i'm going in - and i want to be prepared with my decision... ANY help here would be amazing - as i've never owned a bimmer before- only dreamed...