where is TCM(transmission control module) located? - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

» Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2005, 09:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: May 2005
Car:
Posts: 32
Photos:
wango is an unknown quantity at this point
where is TCM(transmission control module) located?

hey guys
My 94 325is has developed a tranny issue.

Oftenly auto tranny sticks on 1st or 3rd gear and never shift up until I manually downshift it to '3' and put it back to 'D'.

I've been searching for this issue and found some posts regarding this.
most of them said that TCM(transmission control module) needs to be replaced or reprogrammed.

What i'd like to know is

1. where is the TCM located?
2. is it possible task for a weekend mechanic(me)?
3. if not, how much would it cost at an independant bmw shop or AAMCO or even dealer$hip?

thnx in advance.
wango is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-21-2005, 04:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: May 2005
Car:
Posts: 32
Photos:
wango is an unknown quantity at this point
damn what a stupid man i am! When i used to disconnect dme, i wondered what another module is for yeah that's tcm. i gotta check solenoid of mine as soon as i get up tomorrow morning.
wango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2005, 08:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Car:
Posts: 358
Photos:
bad man working is an unknown quantity at this point
Yes that is the gearbox ECU but you’re probably bet getting a main dealer to re-programme yours first it only take minutes they’ll probably charge 15 minute labour the control units rarely go fault it’s normally software faults
bad man working is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transmission Control Module Vishal 3-Series (E36) 6 08-17-2011 09:11 AM
Check Control Module? djianlaverick 3-Series (E36) 2 04-01-2005 09:30 AM
Climate Control Module Upgrade E46 BMWNUT 3-Series (E46, E90) 0 10-21-2004 01:09 PM
General Control Module question wilkie3 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 0 08-04-2004 11:27 AM
Idle Control Module M5power 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 9 05-05-2004 01:22 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.