When Im Driving Hard - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 02-05-2005, 10:31 PM
n00b
 
caveman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: modesto, CA
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
caveman is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to caveman
(Thread Starter)
earlier today i was driven hard. when i shifted from 2nd to 3rd i was close to red line then when i went into third i stayed at red line and my rpms didnt lower. then it was the same for when i was in fourth. i was going about 120

<a href='http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/727367' target='_blank'>My old vehicle</a>///////if Napolean Dynomite drives a bimmer.
Should'nt you?
caveman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 02-05-2005, 10:39 PM
n00b
 
caveman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: modesto, CA
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
caveman is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to caveman
(Thread Starter)
someone help me! jesus

<a href='http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/727367' target='_blank'>My old vehicle</a>///////if Napolean Dynomite drives a bimmer.
Should'nt you?
caveman is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 02-05-2005, 10:44 PM
What? No Autobahn?
 
jrhaile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile
why would you be driving hard?!?! haha

what is your question exactly? worried about your shifting problem?

jrhaile is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 02-05-2005, 11:45 PM
n00b
 
caveman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: modesto, CA
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
caveman is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to caveman
(Thread Starter)
now im confusing myself!!! nevermind

<a href='http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/727367' target='_blank'>My old vehicle</a>///////if Napolean Dynomite drives a bimmer.
Should'nt you?
caveman is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 02-06-2005, 12:43 AM
2nd Gear Member
 
Rookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Friday Harbor, WA
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Rookie is an unknown quantity at this point
If you shifted and dropped the clutch while getting into the gas real hard it may have been the clutch slipping. Our cars have a clutch delay that will do strange things sometimes. It happened to me on a shift from 1st to 2nd while I was playing around. The revs went from 4k to redline without the speedo moving or the tires burning out.

From what I understand it kind of acts like a damper so if you just drop the clutch it will feather the clutch just a little bit instead of just letting it drop.

Hookers need love too!
What we do in life echoes an eternity
<img src='http://vfs.com/~3d43patrick/rookiesig2.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Rookie is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 02-06-2005, 02:29 PM
Threadkiller
 
bitcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Posts: 2,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bitcore will become famous soon enough bitcore will become famous soon enough
You could have mis-shifted. The BMW transmission mounts for E36 are notoriuously soft and under a heavy load, the transmission will torque, but the gear shift notches will not. So, when you upshift, you can moneyshift and blow some stuff up even though you put it in the correct gear notch. Not by any fault of yours, you can shift it into the correct gear, but the transmission is torqueing so it dosn't quite match up anymore.

Invest in some aftermarket urathane transmission mounts if it's mis-shifting and the clutch wasn't slipping.


bitcore is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 02-06-2005, 05:44 PM
2nd Gear Member
 
Rookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Friday Harbor, WA
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Rookie is an unknown quantity at this point
Thats a good idea torque how hard are those bushings to change?

Hookers need love too!
What we do in life echoes an eternity
<img src='http://vfs.com/~3d43patrick/rookiesig2.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Rookie is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 02-06-2005, 07:57 PM
Threadkiller
 
bitcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Posts: 2,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bitcore will become famous soon enough bitcore will become famous soon enough
I dunno but seeing as they support the transmission, I don't think it's a really fun job :P

You'd probably want to change the guibo while your at it I guess...


bitcore is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 02-07-2005, 09:10 AM
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Autotechnica is an unknown quantity at this point
The tranny bushings are very easy to change. But then again, it all depends on your skill level. Some people can't change their own oil.

All you do is jack up the car, put it on jack stands. Then use the jack to support the tranny. Unbolt the tranny brace from both sides (4 bolts). Undo the nuts from the stock tranny mounts which are bolted to the tranny (2 bolts). Once that's done, the tranny brace attached to the mounts should drop down. You now have the tranny brace out of the car. Remove the tranny mounts and install the new ones. They are held on by bolts. Torque the new tranny mounts properly (otherwise you'll get vibrations) and reinstall. Make sure to torque all the bolts and bushings properly before you put load on them.

Bry

<u>1994 M-Technic M42 Saloon - Trillium Chapter - 5130</u>
Stock - 2866lbs Current - 2670lbs
<a href='http://www.geocities.com/mtechnik42' target='_blank'>- VIEW MY MODS AND PICS</a>
<a href='http://www.automobile-technik.com' target='_blank'>- PARTS FOR SALE</a>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/atta...tc=1&quot;&gt;
Autotechnica is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 02-07-2005, 10:51 AM
2nd Gear Member
 
Rookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Friday Harbor, WA
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Rookie is an unknown quantity at this point
As always bry you are a god!

Do you have to press these seals into the mounts or melt the old ones out? Or are they nice and simple and are easy to get out?

Hookers need love too!
What we do in life echoes an eternity
<img src='http://vfs.com/~3d43patrick/rookiesig2.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Rookie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard to lock/unlock doors on 89 325i Slow325i 3-Series (E21, E30) 5 11-14-2005 02:54 PM
Thrumming when driving above 45mph zayd55 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 2 09-25-2005 02:19 PM
yet another driving tale!!!(long) Scarface Driving Tales 7 07-31-2003 02:55 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome