Transmission Control Module - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 09-27-2004, 01:56 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Vishal is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Thumbs down

Hi,

Forgive me if this topic has been covered previously. I tried doing a search but unfortunately I couldn't find anything

I have a major problem with my 1993 325i and I was hoping one of you pros can tell we what could be wrong with my car.

While driving the TCM (transmission control module) sign comes on it's the light with exclamation mark with gears around it. I think it's the TCM light. Now here's where it gets weird. Once I stop the car, turn the engine off and wait few sec then start back on the light goes off and the car drives normal. I have noticed that this usually happens when I make a hard stop or hit a bump.

Can some please advice on what could be wrong. Is it possible it's the speed sensor or the ABS sensor??

If that wasn't enough now my car is guzzling gas like anything. Just this past weekend I filled up the gas tank and did local driving for 6 - 7 miles and the car exhausted quarter tank of gas.

ghead
Vishal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 09-27-2004, 03:52 PM
Threadkiller
 
bitcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Posts: 2,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bitcore will become famous soon enough bitcore will become famous soon enough
You most likeley need to pull codes, or go to a dealer and get them to tell you whats wrong.
Either a connection's loose and a fault is being produce, or something internal in the gearbox is REALLY malfunctioning and poping loose when you hit a bump.

Is it making any strange noises or doing anything weird with the RPM's?


bitcore is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 09-27-2004, 04:05 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Vishal is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
No, it's not making any noises or anything like that.

If I am driving at normal speed and I hit a bump, the light comes on but the car still drives normal. It's only if I stop the car then it won't take pick up. It like the gear is getting stuck on first and not shifting.
Vishal is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 09-27-2004, 04:58 PM
Threadkiller
 
bitcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Posts: 2,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bitcore will become famous soon enough bitcore will become famous soon enough
So when you hit a bump, it goes into "limp home mode" and wont shift gears anymore and your relying on the torque converter to accelerate?


bitcore is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 09-28-2004, 10:10 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Vishal is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
That’s right… No matter how much I accelerator the car won’t go past 5 to 10 mph. You think it has anything to do with the 02 sensor?
Vishal is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 08-17-2011, 06:57 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
copcuhelper is on a distinguished road
Please help - the same problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vishal View Post
That’s right… No matter how much I accelerator the car won’t go past 5 to 10 mph. You think it has anything to do with the 02 sensor?
Dear Vishal,

please help and respond!!! I now HAVE THE SAMEEEEEEEEE PROBLEM. Could you solve it? My problem is now getting worse. Before, I could switch off and on, I coudl drive properly for a while. But now, it got worse, It moves proper but if I stop and move again it doesnot. PLEASE ADVICE how you solved it! Really looking forward to it.

Best regards/
copcuhelper is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 08-17-2011, 10:11 AM
OMFG another one!?
 
witeshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 14,701
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice
Thread is from 2004

BMW

Sig by zeaq
witeshark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
where is TCM(transmission control module) located? wango 3-Series (E36) 2 10-23-2005 09:46 AM
Check Control Module? djianlaverick 3-Series (E36) 2 04-01-2005 10:30 AM
Climate Control Module Upgrade E46 BMWNUT 3-Series (E46, E90) 0 10-21-2004 02:09 PM
Idle Control Module M5power 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 9 05-05-2004 02:22 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome