Transmission Control Module - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

» Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2004, 12:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Car:
Posts: 3
Photos:
Vishal is an unknown quantity at this point
Thumbs down

Hi,

Forgive me if this topic has been covered previously. I tried doing a search but unfortunately I couldn't find anything

I have a major problem with my 1993 325i and I was hoping one of you pros can tell we what could be wrong with my car.

While driving the TCM (transmission control module) sign comes on it's the light with exclamation mark with gears around it. I think it's the TCM light. Now here's where it gets weird. Once I stop the car, turn the engine off and wait few sec then start back on the light goes off and the car drives normal. I have noticed that this usually happens when I make a hard stop or hit a bump.

Can some please advice on what could be wrong. Is it possible it's the speed sensor or the ABS sensor??

If that wasn't enough now my car is guzzling gas like anything. Just this past weekend I filled up the gas tank and did local driving for 6 - 7 miles and the car exhausted quarter tank of gas.

ghead
Vishal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-27-2004, 02:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Threadkiller
 
bitcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Car:
Posts: 2,907
Photos:
bitcore will become famous soon enoughbitcore will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to bitcore Send a message via AIM to bitcore Send a message via MSN to bitcore
You most likeley need to pull codes, or go to a dealer and get them to tell you whats wrong.
Either a connection's loose and a fault is being produce, or something internal in the gearbox is REALLY malfunctioning and poping loose when you hit a bump.

Is it making any strange noises or doing anything weird with the RPM's?
__________________

bitcore is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 03:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Car:
Posts: 3
Photos:
Vishal is an unknown quantity at this point
No, it's not making any noises or anything like that.

If I am driving at normal speed and I hit a bump, the light comes on but the car still drives normal. It's only if I stop the car then it won't take pick up. It like the gear is getting stuck on first and not shifting.
Vishal is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 03:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Threadkiller
 
bitcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Car:
Posts: 2,907
Photos:
bitcore will become famous soon enoughbitcore will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to bitcore Send a message via AIM to bitcore Send a message via MSN to bitcore
So when you hit a bump, it goes into "limp home mode" and wont shift gears anymore and your relying on the torque converter to accelerate?
__________________

bitcore is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 09:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Car:
Posts: 3
Photos:
Vishal is an unknown quantity at this point
That’s right… No matter how much I accelerator the car won’t go past 5 to 10 mph. You think it has anything to do with the 02 sensor?
Vishal is offline  
Old 08-17-2011, 05:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Car:
Posts: 1
Photos:
copcuhelper is on a distinguished road
Please help - the same problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vishal View Post
That’s right… No matter how much I accelerator the car won’t go past 5 to 10 mph. You think it has anything to do with the 02 sensor?
Dear Vishal,

please help and respond!!! I now HAVE THE SAMEEEEEEEEE PROBLEM. Could you solve it? My problem is now getting worse. Before, I could switch off and on, I coudl drive properly for a while. But now, it got worse, It moves proper but if I stop and move again it doesnot. PLEASE ADVICE how you solved it! Really looking forward to it.

Best regards/
copcuhelper is offline  
Old 08-17-2011, 09:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
OMFG another one!?
 
witeshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami FL
Car: 89 E30 325i, 2007 Honda
Posts: 14,690
Photos:
witeshark is just really nicewiteshark is just really nicewiteshark is just really nicewiteshark is just really nicewiteshark is just really nice
Thread is from 2004
__________________
BMW

Sig by zeaq
witeshark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
where is TCM(transmission control module) located? wango 3-Series (E36) 2 10-23-2005 08:46 AM
Check Control Module? djianlaverick 3-Series (E36) 2 04-01-2005 09:30 AM
Climate Control Module Upgrade E46 BMWNUT 3-Series (E46, E90) 0 10-21-2004 01:09 PM
Idle Control Module M5power 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 9 05-05-2004 01:22 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.