trans slipping...i think - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

» Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2004, 03:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Car:
Posts: 92
Photos:
aotiko is an unknown quantity at this point
When I floor it, it feels like a slipping clutch would but it's an automatic. It will pull and then feel like it stops and then goes again. I hope it's nothing major I just need you people's opinions before I bring it in.

95 325i AUTO
aotiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-02-2004, 04:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
What? No Autobahn?
 
jrhaile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Spokane, Wa
Car: 2001 M5
Posts: 3,525
Photos:
jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile
Send a message via ICQ to jrhaile Send a message via AIM to jrhaile Send a message via MSN to jrhaile
dunno.. but I got parts for you if you need some... if they tell you that it's your tranny computer, I've got one that was in my 95 325i auto that I pulled out that is working great... let me know. doesn't sound like anything major though.
__________________
jrhaile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 04:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
CiscoKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South Jersey, USA
Car:
Posts: 2,195
Photos:
CiscoKid is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to CiscoKid
might be the torque converter
__________________
CiscoKid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 04:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
What? No Autobahn?
 
jrhaile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Spokane, Wa
Car: 2001 M5
Posts: 3,525
Photos:
jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile
Send a message via ICQ to jrhaile Send a message via AIM to jrhaile Send a message via MSN to jrhaile
hey if it is, I got one of dem too :P shit I got everything for an auto tranny in an e36 lol
__________________
jrhaile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2004, 08:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Car:
Posts: 92
Photos:
aotiko is an unknown quantity at this point
Well what happens if it's the torque conveter OR the computer. What would they do to fix it? Also jrhaile, how much did your angel eyes cost and was it easy to put them in?
aotiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2004, 08:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Threadkiller
 
bitcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Car:
Posts: 2,907
Photos:
bitcore will become famous soon enoughbitcore will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to bitcore Send a message via AIM to bitcore Send a message via MSN to bitcore
I'm having the same problem you have.
It's got to be the torque converter. Don't worry, the worst that can happen is the converter doesn’t lock completely and it feels like the transmission is slipping (like you were granny-riding the clutch in a manual, it's just not bad for the transmission, it was MADE to do that)

Just to ease your fears of a part wearing out and not being able to drive, the torque converter relies on a viscous fluid and a locking mechanism to transmit torque to the transmission. The locking mechanism may seem to be wearing out, and it doesn’t lock into place like it should. You'l get bad gas milage because of this, but the car is still quite driveable and wont mess anything else up.
aotiko, what I think you are experiencing is primarily a mechanical problem.
It seems to be getting worse and worse over time because I drive like I'm autocrossing all of the time When I need to replace it ,(and I know eventually it's going to get so bad it wont lock at all anymore) I'm going to see if I can get a 6\5 speed manual put in instead of just a new torque converter.
__________________

bitcore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2004, 08:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Car:
Posts: 92
Photos:
aotiko is an unknown quantity at this point
damnnn, well how much is it to fix a torque converter? or should I just sell the car and get a new Evolution. Choices, choices.
aotiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2004, 10:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Car:
Posts: 8
Photos:
dr_dirtg is an unknown quantity at this point
I have 328i automatic.
Experiencing similar problem... car just doesn't respond as fast as it used to....

How much is this torque converter... how much bs is it to change it?
dr_dirtg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2004, 04:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Threadkiller
 
bitcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Car:
Posts: 2,907
Photos:
bitcore will become famous soon enoughbitcore will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to bitcore Send a message via AIM to bitcore Send a message via MSN to bitcore
It's an automatic, not too much you can do about it aside from replacement or manual transmission swap. I'm not entirely POSITIVE that the torque converter is *WORN* out, but that is definately the culprit in this "slipping" feeling we are experiencing.

Shoudln't be much of a big deal in terms of replacing it, just drop the old one out, and put the new one back in. I dont believe there are any special electronic parts that need to be replaced with it. Should be a simple replacement, could take a while in labor since the related parts are quite heavy. I'm no mechanic, so get a quote. :P
__________________

bitcore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2004, 10:53 AM   #10 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
123NotIt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Car:
Posts: 52
Photos:
123NotIt is an unknown quantity at this point
I had a similar problem on my AT 93' 325i. I would lose power and it felt like the transmission was slipping. But my transmission light would come on when it happened (looks like a gear with a '!' in the middle and appears in the bottom center of your instrument panel). The dealership said it was an EPROM that needed to be upgraded and they replaced it for a couple hundred bucks. I haven't had the problem since.
__________________
<img src='http://sonny.ramsay.us/m3_footer.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
123NotIt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
03 330i Trans ra65c83 3-Series (E46, E90) 1 07-13-2005 08:01 PM
88 528e Auto Trans Electron 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 11 03-21-2005 10:24 PM
740il Auto Trans Fluid tknesek 1,6,7,8 - Series and Mini Cooper 3 02-04-2004 08:12 AM
Trans program Hoopty 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 7 01-04-2004 03:25 AM
trans fluid Blackdog 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 3 10-06-2003 11:13 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.