tranny? - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 06:13 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
redhandmonkey is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Thumbs up

Does any one know if a 95 M3 5 speed automatic transmission will work in a 94 325I that orignally had a 4spd automatic? Are there any wiring or drive line problems fit issues?

Thanks in advance for all your help.
Chris
redhandmonkey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 10:32 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Kevin325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 2,613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Kevin325i is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Kevin325i
New driveshaft and possibly some issues with the ecu.

Kevin (President TBEA)

"WAAAAAAARRRRRIORS, come out to plaaaaay."
Kevin325i is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 10:37 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SFV SoCal
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
nameless08 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Yahoo to nameless08
you can make it work.. with money

.snice.
nameless08 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 09-18-2004, 12:30 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
redhandmonkey is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Would it help if i also had the ecu that went with the m3 tranny or would it be a wiring problem? I do know that my 325i tranny is a GM while the m3 is a ZF.
Thanks
Chris
redhandmonkey is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 09-18-2004, 01:42 AM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
skawful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 2,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
skawful is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to skawful
there might be a transmission chip that could somehow be programmed to handle the change butttttt hmmm.... it might be smarter to just get a new 5spd manual built for the 325

<img src='http://img259.imageshack.us/my.php?image=sig8hw.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
skawful is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 09-18-2004, 03:28 AM
Threadkiller
 
bitcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Posts: 2,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bitcore will become famous soon enough bitcore will become famous soon enough
Diff gearing is totally different, you at least need a new ring gear, so you might as well get an LSD put in when you drop the tranny in while the entire driveline is being dropped out.
You may need a new driveshaft, it could be shorter or longer, if anyone wants to look up part numbers for E36 axles and see if there are two different kinds for the manual transmission and auto, be my guest. Mounting bolts for axle components should be the same, so no problem there

Wiring issues: Yes. There is an automatic transmisssion control unit, and some much simpler systems for the manual transmission (If any, I am not sure on this one) ECU may flip out and throw a code because the AT unit isn't "functioning" anymore.

Tranny mounts should be the same.

This isn't going to be cheep. $4-6K, at least, to be done right. (including new parts\transmission & labor)


bitcore is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 09-18-2004, 01:53 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
redhandmonkey is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Hey guys, well it is actually a M3 5 speed automatic, but it is sounding like it will be more work than I want sitting in my garage at this time. Thanks for all your input.
redhandmonkey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tranny Slams On Auto Mode wango 3-Series (E36) 2 09-02-2005 08:29 PM
Tranny Auto To Manual mmclaren 3-Series (E36) 15 03-11-2005 01:27 AM
Tranny Problem sajco 3-Series (E36) 2 02-15-2005 10:00 AM
Put an 82 528e tranny in a 96 535i? ronskal 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 2 06-09-2004 05:29 PM
Just changed my own tranny fluid Autotechnica 3-Series (E36) 7 04-30-2004 10:15 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome