Tms Chip And M3 Cams - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 02-11-2005, 11:22 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
kyle_baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
kyle_baker is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to kyle_baker Send a message via MSN to kyle_baker Send a message via Yahoo to kyle_baker Send a message via Skype™ to kyle_baker
(Thread Starter)
I know that there are alot of posts about Performance chips and everyone seems to be leaning towards TMS chips. I have found their website and i am looking at a chip for my 1995 325is... http://www.turnermotorsport.com/html/subca...36&subcat_id=74 ...they cost $249.95, but my one questions is this...

If i am considering M3 cams but can't afford them yet can i just get the TMS 1995 325is chip and later get cams? or will they not work right with the chip?

...or...

Should i get the TMS Chip for e36 325 with M3 cams and use it until i get the cams or will that not work right either?

thanx in advanced...also about how much do m3 cams cost?
kyle_baker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 02-11-2005, 11:42 PM
ex owner/admin
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto-Canada
Posts: 10,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious
Send a message via AIM to Furious
get the chip but if you wanna save a bit of cash get one from a friend that makes them. his name is mark, he has copy rights to the tms fomula and can make you a chip for cheaper. i had one for my 1994 325 and i cant say anything other than i was more than impressed, matter of fact it will be for sale soon (wont work with my new setup) but i will be going back to him for my next chip

tell him Furious sent you .

here is his site.

http://www.dsylva-tech.ca/

Furious is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 02-12-2005, 12:06 AM
Power Shifting
 
Cruzin 323is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Carle Place, NY
Posts: 3,677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Cruzin 323is is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Cruzin 323is
from what i here... you should get the chip last! but i'm not sure!

-SOLD..
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2229108/1 *UPDATED 8.25.06*
R.I.P Fast 6


stuff for sale on my e36.. CHeck it out!
http://www.bimmerwerkz.com/forum/aft...e36-49128.html
Cruzin 323is is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 02-12-2005, 12:28 AM
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
NeverLeaned is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to NeverLeaned
Quote:
Originally posted by Cruzin 323is@Feb 12 2005, 12:06 AM
from what i here... you should get the chip last! but i'm not sure!
[snapback]290244[/snapback]
$$$ Wise your better off waiting, but if you can't wait then check the classifieds @ http://bimmerforums.com

People are dumping OBDI chips there all the time. A couple of TMS guys browse that forum as well, and I have seen them offer to validate the used chip before.... dunno under what circumstances they valid the chip is legit though.

1996- BMW 328IS
<img src='http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v242/gws226/TEX/neverleanedsig.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Performance: Zimmerman Cross Drilled Rotors-- PBR Deluxes-- Cosmos CAI---- Turner Pulley Kit--- Fan Delete mod---
Beauty: 18 polished M-Parallel replicas, Inpro Euros w/ Enchanced Angel eye kit, 20% tint
Clear corners/sidemarkers ---- Eurospec (Depos)

To do list:
Suspension--- researching
UUC System U TDM- 3/05
M50 manifold converstion 3/05
off to the tuning shop for custom software 4/05
Cams/lightened flywheel, throttlebody........ well lets see what happens
NeverLeaned is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 02-13-2005, 11:30 AM
3rd Gear Member
 
kyle_baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
kyle_baker is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to kyle_baker Send a message via MSN to kyle_baker Send a message via Yahoo to kyle_baker Send a message via Skype™ to kyle_baker
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally posted by NeverLeaned+Feb 12 2005, 12:28 AM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(NeverLeaned @ Feb 12 2005, 12:28 AM)</div><div class='quotemain'><!--QuoteBegin-Cruzin 323is@Feb 12 2005, 12:06 AM
from what i here... you should get the chip last! but i'm not sure!
[snapback]290244[/snapback]
$$$ Wise your better off waiting, but if you can't wait then check the classifieds @ http://bimmerforums.com

People are dumping OBDI chips there all the time. A couple of TMS guys browse that forum as well, and I have seen them offer to validate the used chip before.... dunno under what circumstances they valid the chip is legit though.
[snapback]290265[/snapback]
[/b][/quote]

If i couldn't wait and went ahead and got the chip could i have it reprogrammed later (a TMS Chip) or do you HAVE to get that done when you first get it?
kyle_baker is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 02-13-2005, 12:29 PM
5th Gear Member
 
Speedy-325is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Pole Position #1
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Speedy-325is is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Speedy-325is Send a message via MSN to Speedy-325is Send a message via Yahoo to Speedy-325is
if you buy a TMS chip, then get cams later.....you call them, and they are more than happy to swap or reprogram it for you. give them a call, they are really helpful and sometimes its better to hear good news from the dragons mouth itself.

no worries. buy now. play now.
and i would fo-sho get any TMS chip not from TMS, verified by them.

Mark
Speedy-325is is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 02-13-2005, 12:47 PM
2nd Gear Member
 
docrobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
docrobot is an unknown quantity at this point
Anyone gone as far as dynoing before and after M3 cams with or without the chip?
docrobot is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 02-13-2005, 12:49 PM
What? No Autobahn?
 
jrhaile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile
not yet but in a month I will.

jrhaile is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 02-13-2005, 04:58 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
kyle_baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
kyle_baker is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to kyle_baker Send a message via MSN to kyle_baker Send a message via Yahoo to kyle_baker Send a message via Skype™ to kyle_baker
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally posted by Speedy-325is@Feb 13 2005, 12:29 PM
if you buy a TMS chip, then get cams later.....you call them, and they are more than happy to swap or reprogram it for you. give them a call, they are really helpful and sometimes its better to hear good news from the dragons mouth itself.

no worries. buy now. play now.
and i would fo-sho get any TMS chip not from TMS, verified by them.

Mark
[snapback]291033[/snapback]
So, can anyone tell me about this MarkD guy who sells TMS chips? Like his prices and also how to contact him? Thanx in advanced!
kyle_baker is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 02-13-2005, 04:59 PM
5th Gear Member
 
jshearer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 1,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jshearer is an unknown quantity at this point
I am gonna buy the TMS chip along with some other mods. Heard a little about running M3 cams, but does anyone know if there is really a performance difference with the cams vs without?

<a href="http://imageshack.us"><img src="http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/3466/quicksignature20te.jpg" border="0" width="600" alt="Image Hosted by ImageShack.us" /></a>
jshearer is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 02-13-2005, 05:21 PM
Live Fast. Drive Faster.
 
buuhh99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 3,251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
buuhh99 has a reputation beyond repute buuhh99 has a reputation beyond repute buuhh99 has a reputation beyond repute buuhh99 has a reputation beyond repute buuhh99 has a reputation beyond repute buuhh99 has a reputation beyond repute buuhh99 has a reputation beyond repute buuhh99 has a reputation beyond repute buuhh99 has a reputation beyond repute buuhh99 has a reputation beyond repute buuhh99 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to buuhh99
look at tms website they gice u dyno gains the cam idea with chip is a good one but i recomend exhaust and intake before chip if u want alot of power out of your 2.5 liter engine get CAIS, intake manifold, cams, chip, headers, downpipe, exhaust and u will expirence gains in the upper 65 hp to 75hp maybe 80hp that would put u like at 270 hp pretty good for no f/i



buuhh99 is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 02-13-2005, 05:51 PM
5th Gear Member
 
jshearer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 1,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jshearer is an unknown quantity at this point
Not to completely take this thread but yeah i am gonna put in a chip, and CAI when the weather is warmer and then possibly underdrive pulleys. I am not sure about my exhaust, when I bought the car it already had a mean sound and does not sound like other peoples 3 series, i think it may already have an aftermarket or better exhaust system on it.

<a href="http://imageshack.us"><img src="http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/3466/quicksignature20te.jpg" border="0" width="600" alt="Image Hosted by ImageShack.us" /></a>
jshearer is offline  
#13 (permalink) Old 02-13-2005, 06:47 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
SilentOne is an unknown quantity at this point
^"i think it may already have an aftermarket or better exhaust system on it."^



Dang.. There is such a thing as better than aftermarket exhaust?
SilentOne is offline  
#14 (permalink) Old 02-13-2005, 07:39 PM
350z
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bigred318 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to bigred318 Send a message via Yahoo to bigred318
i have the TMS chip, with an ecis intake and all i can say is WOW

David
bigred318 is offline  
#15 (permalink) Old 02-13-2005, 07:41 PM
2nd Gear Member
 
Rookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Friday Harbor, WA
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Rookie is an unknown quantity at this point
So are you saying that TMS will simply reprogram your chip once you changed your setup? Do they do if for a discount or what?

Hookers need love too!
What we do in life echoes an eternity
<img src='http://vfs.com/~3d43patrick/rookiesig2.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Rookie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome