Tms Chip And M3 Cams - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2005, 11:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
kyle_baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Car:
Posts: 692
Photos:
kyle_baker is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to kyle_baker Send a message via MSN to kyle_baker Send a message via Yahoo to kyle_baker Send a message via Skype™ to kyle_baker
I know that there are alot of posts about Performance chips and everyone seems to be leaning towards TMS chips. I have found their website and i am looking at a chip for my 1995 325is... http://www.turnermotorsport.com/html/subca...36&subcat_id=74 ...they cost $249.95, but my one questions is this...

If i am considering M3 cams but can't afford them yet can i just get the TMS 1995 325is chip and later get cams? or will they not work right with the chip?

...or...

Should i get the TMS Chip for e36 325 with M3 cams and use it until i get the cams or will that not work right either?

thanx in advanced...also about how much do m3 cams cost?
kyle_baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-11-2005, 11:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
ex owner/admin
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto-Canada
Car: turbo e36 325/s50 and e46 330xi
Posts: 10,839
Photos:
Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious
Send a message via AIM to Furious
get the chip but if you wanna save a bit of cash get one from a friend that makes them. his name is mark, he has copy rights to the tms fomula and can make you a chip for cheaper. i had one for my 1994 325 and i cant say anything other than i was more than impressed, matter of fact it will be for sale soon (wont work with my new setup) but i will be going back to him for my next chip

tell him Furious sent you .

here is his site.

http://www.dsylva-tech.ca/
__________________
Furious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2005, 12:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Power Shifting
 
Cruzin 323is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Carle Place, NY
Car:
Posts: 3,677
Photos:
Cruzin 323is is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Cruzin 323is
from what i here... you should get the chip last! but i'm not sure!
__________________
-SOLD..
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2229108/1 *UPDATED 8.25.06*
R.I.P Fast 6


stuff for sale on my e36.. CHeck it out!
http://www.bimmerwerkz.com/forum/aft...e36-49128.html
Cruzin 323is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2005, 12:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NYC
Car:
Posts: 449
Photos:
NeverLeaned is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to NeverLeaned
Quote:
Originally posted by Cruzin 323is@Feb 12 2005, 12:06 AM
from what i here... you should get the chip last! but i'm not sure!
[snapback]290244[/snapback]
$$$ Wise your better off waiting, but if you can't wait then check the classifieds @ http://bimmerforums.com

People are dumping OBDI chips there all the time. A couple of TMS guys browse that forum as well, and I have seen them offer to validate the used chip before.... dunno under what circumstances they valid the chip is legit though.
__________________
1996- BMW 328IS
<img src='http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v242/gws226/TEX/neverleanedsig.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Performance: Zimmerman Cross Drilled Rotors-- PBR Deluxes-- Cosmos CAI---- Turner Pulley Kit--- Fan Delete mod---
Beauty: 18 polished M-Parallel replicas, Inpro Euros w/ Enchanced Angel eye kit, 20% tint
Clear corners/sidemarkers ---- Eurospec (Depos)

To do list:
Suspension--- researching
UUC System U TDM- 3/05
M50 manifold converstion 3/05
off to the tuning shop for custom software 4/05
Cams/lightened flywheel, throttlebody........ well lets see what happens
NeverLeaned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2005, 11:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
kyle_baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Car:
Posts: 692
Photos:
kyle_baker is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to kyle_baker Send a message via MSN to kyle_baker Send a message via Yahoo to kyle_baker Send a message via Skype™ to kyle_baker
Quote:
Originally posted by NeverLeaned+Feb 12 2005, 12:28 AM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(NeverLeaned @ Feb 12 2005, 12:28 AM)</div><div class='quotemain'><!--QuoteBegin-Cruzin 323is@Feb 12 2005, 12:06 AM
from what i here... you should get the chip last! but i'm not sure!
[snapback]290244[/snapback]
$$$ Wise your better off waiting, but if you can't wait then check the classifieds @ http://bimmerforums.com

People are dumping OBDI chips there all the time. A couple of TMS guys browse that forum as well, and I have seen them offer to validate the used chip before.... dunno under what circumstances they valid the chip is legit though.
[snapback]290265[/snapback]
[/b][/quote]

If i couldn't wait and went ahead and got the chip could i have it reprogrammed later (a TMS Chip) or do you HAVE to get that done when you first get it?
kyle_baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2005, 12:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
5th Gear Member
 
Speedy-325is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Pole Position #1
Car:
Posts: 1,458
Photos:
Speedy-325is is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Speedy-325is Send a message via MSN to Speedy-325is Send a message via Yahoo to Speedy-325is
if you buy a TMS chip, then get cams later.....you call them, and they are more than happy to swap or reprogram it for you. give them a call, they are really helpful and sometimes its better to hear good news from the dragons mouth itself.

no worries. buy now. play now.
and i would fo-sho get any TMS chip not from TMS, verified by them.

Mark
Speedy-325is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2005, 12:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
docrobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Car:
Posts: 458
Photos:
docrobot is an unknown quantity at this point
Anyone gone as far as dynoing before and after M3 cams with or without the chip?
docrobot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2005, 12:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
What? No Autobahn?
 
jrhaile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Spokane, Wa
Car: 2001 M5
Posts: 3,525
Photos:
jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile
Send a message via ICQ to jrhaile Send a message via AIM to jrhaile Send a message via MSN to jrhaile
not yet but in a month I will.
__________________
jrhaile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2005, 04:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
kyle_baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Car:
Posts: 692
Photos:
kyle_baker is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to kyle_baker Send a message via MSN to kyle_baker Send a message via Yahoo to kyle_baker Send a message via Skype™ to kyle_baker
Quote:
Originally posted by Speedy-325is@Feb 13 2005, 12:29 PM
if you buy a TMS chip, then get cams later.....you call them, and they are more than happy to swap or reprogram it for you. give them a call, they are really helpful and sometimes its better to hear good news from the dragons mouth itself.

no worries. buy now. play now.
and i would fo-sho get any TMS chip not from TMS, verified by them.

Mark
[snapback]291033[/snapback]
So, can anyone tell me about this MarkD guy who sells TMS chips? Like his prices and also how to contact him? Thanx in advanced!
kyle_baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2005, 04:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
5th Gear Member
 
jshearer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Car: 1994 325is
Posts: 1,071
Photos:
jshearer is an unknown quantity at this point
I am gonna buy the TMS chip along with some other mods. Heard a little about running M3 cams, but does anyone know if there is really a performance difference with the cams vs without?
__________________
<a href="http://imageshack.us"><img src="http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/3466/quicksignature20te.jpg" border="0" width="600" alt="Image Hosted by ImageShack.us" /></a>
jshearer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2005, 05:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Live Fast. Drive Faster.
 
buuhh99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Car:
Posts: 3,251
Photos:
buuhh99 has a reputation beyond reputebuuhh99 has a reputation beyond reputebuuhh99 has a reputation beyond reputebuuhh99 has a reputation beyond reputebuuhh99 has a reputation beyond reputebuuhh99 has a reputation beyond reputebuuhh99 has a reputation beyond reputebuuhh99 has a reputation beyond reputebuuhh99 has a reputation beyond reputebuuhh99 has a reputation beyond reputebuuhh99 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to buuhh99
look at tms website they gice u dyno gains the cam idea with chip is a good one but i recomend exhaust and intake before chip if u want alot of power out of your 2.5 liter engine get CAIS, intake manifold, cams, chip, headers, downpipe, exhaust and u will expirence gains in the upper 65 hp to 75hp maybe 80hp that would put u like at 270 hp pretty good for no f/i
__________________


buuhh99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2005, 05:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
5th Gear Member
 
jshearer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Car: 1994 325is
Posts: 1,071
Photos:
jshearer is an unknown quantity at this point
Not to completely take this thread but yeah i am gonna put in a chip, and CAI when the weather is warmer and then possibly underdrive pulleys. I am not sure about my exhaust, when I bought the car it already had a mean sound and does not sound like other peoples 3 series, i think it may already have an aftermarket or better exhaust system on it.
__________________
<a href="http://imageshack.us"><img src="http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/3466/quicksignature20te.jpg" border="0" width="600" alt="Image Hosted by ImageShack.us" /></a>
jshearer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2005, 06:47 PM   #13 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Car:
Posts: 13
Photos:
SilentOne is an unknown quantity at this point
^"i think it may already have an aftermarket or better exhaust system on it."^



Dang.. There is such a thing as better than aftermarket exhaust?
SilentOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2005, 07:39 PM   #14 (permalink)
350z
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Car: 03 Nissan 350z Track
Posts: 4,932
Photos:
bigred318 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to bigred318 Send a message via Yahoo to bigred318
i have the TMS chip, with an ecis intake and all i can say is WOW

David
__________________
**BAKER POW REPORT**
bigred318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2005, 07:41 PM   #15 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
Rookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Friday Harbor, WA
Car:
Posts: 471
Photos:
Rookie is an unknown quantity at this point
So are you saying that TMS will simply reprogram your chip once you changed your setup? Do they do if for a discount or what?
__________________
Hookers need love too!
What we do in life echoes an eternity
<img src='http://vfs.com/~3d43patrick/rookiesig2.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Rookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.