Terrible Electrical Problem - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2004, 06:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Car:
Posts: 11
Photos:
TKMp3 is an unknown quantity at this point
My cousin was messing with my car a few weeks ago trying to find a way to install my aftermarket alarm. We took out the glove box and for some reason, he unplugged all the wiring harnesses (about 6 of them). When he plugged them back in, my windows, power door locks, and sunroof stopped working. I did some research and replaced my comfort relay -- that didnt work. It's not the electrical connections in the trunk lid, either. Does anybody have any idea what's wrong? Thanks a lot.

It really sucks driving up to drive-thrus then realizing your windows won't go down.
__________________
<img src='http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/10/web/406000-406999/406946_73.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Brembo Cross-Drilled Rotors
Dinan Performance Chip
DTM Style Ractive full catback exhaust
Bilstein Sport Shocks / Struts
Eibach Pro-Kit Lowering Springs 1.3&quot; drop
Stainless Steel Headers and Downpipes (In Progress)
Short Shifter (In Progress)
Black Pearl Paint Job
<a href='http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/406946' target='_blank'>etc...</a>
TKMp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-11-2004, 06:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
4th Gear Member
 
bimmer_boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New Orleans, LA
Car:
Posts: 862
Photos:
bimmer_boy is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to bimmer_boy
that suckssssss
__________________
BLACK 1995 BMW E36 325i
<u>Dinan</u> Performance Software - SOLD!
High-flow intake w/ Green Performance Filter
17 x 8.5 BMW Style 44 Rims
<u>Pirelli</u> P6 tires 235/45/17
M3 Spoiler
Clear Tail Lights, Corners, and Side markers
20% Tint all around
Sylvania Silverstar Bulbs
<u>Alpine</u> 9831 MP3/CD Player
bimmer_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2004, 12:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Power Shifting
 
Cruzin 323is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Carle Place, NY
Car:
Posts: 3,677
Photos:
Cruzin 323is is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Cruzin 323is
why u trying that anyway?? i would never touch anykind of harness other than stereo... dealership will prolly rape u on charges.. should have gotten that done professionally!!
__________________
-SOLD..
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2229108/1 *UPDATED 8.25.06*
R.I.P Fast 6


stuff for sale on my e36.. CHeck it out!
http://www.bimmerwerkz.com/forum/aft...e36-49128.html
Cruzin 323is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2004, 01:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Car:
Posts: 302
Photos:
supark is an unknown quantity at this point
Yeah, unfortunately your best bet at this point would be to just bring it to a good indie mechanic to get it wired correctly, or maybe an alarm installer might try and tackle it for a bit less than what a mechanic would charge.
supark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2004, 08:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Rhode Island,USA
Car:
Posts: 179
Photos:
Gator is an unknown quantity at this point
This may sound obvious, but check that he plugged ALL of the harnesses back in and that there isn't one hidden in the back that he overlooked. Then check that they all have unique plug configurations to eliminate the possibility that he plugged them in incorrectly. Also, make sure that all the plugs are fully seated, the check fuses.
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2004, 02:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Car:
Posts: 628
Photos:
wulley1 is an unknown quantity at this point
ya, it sounds like you just forgot to plug something back in. I would take another look around before I brought it into a shop.
wulley1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2004, 02:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Car:
Posts: 5
Photos:
meangreen94z is an unknown quantity at this point
First make sure all harnesses are connected CORRECTLY. Check your fuses(if you havent already) Then make sure that he didnt bend any of the pins on the connecters, or pull any wires loose from the harness.
meangreen94z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2004, 04:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Car:
Posts: 63
Photos:
llzoom_zoomll is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to llzoom_zoomll
u check the fuse box, any fuses blown maybe?
__________________
You think gas is expensive? CHECK THIS OUT:
Lipton Ice Tea 16 oz $1.19 ...........$9.52 per gallon
Ocean Spray 16 oz $1.25 .......... $10.00 per gallon
Gatorade 20 oz $1.59 ..... $10.17 per gallon
Diet Snapple 16 oz $1.29 .......... $10.32 per gallon
Evian water9 oz $1.49..........$21.19 per gallon?
Brake Fluid 12 oz $3.15 ........... $33.60 per gallon
Pepto Bismol 4 oz $3.85 ........ $123.20 per gallon
Vick's Nyquil 6 oz $8.35 .... $178.13 per gallon
llzoom_zoomll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2004, 05:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Car:
Posts: 11
Photos:
TKMp3 is an unknown quantity at this point
The first thing i did was check the fuses. They're all fine. I've double checked all the connections and they're all in correctly, too. There is no other way for them to go. I took apart the comfort relay and found out that if i touch 2 contacts in it, the sunroof would work (why only the sunroof?). So, im thinking it could be the relay, but how? I replaced it with another one (i found in the car) and it did the same thing. I also checked the wiring diagrams in the Bentley manual and there's nothing else running on that circuit besides the window switches. Any other suggestions?
__________________
<img src='http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/10/web/406000-406999/406946_73.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Brembo Cross-Drilled Rotors
Dinan Performance Chip
DTM Style Ractive full catback exhaust
Bilstein Sport Shocks / Struts
Eibach Pro-Kit Lowering Springs 1.3&quot; drop
Stainless Steel Headers and Downpipes (In Progress)
Short Shifter (In Progress)
Black Pearl Paint Job
<a href='http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/406946' target='_blank'>etc...</a>
TKMp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2004, 06:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
my car is red
 
94BMW325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Newark, Delaware
Car: 94 325i, 84 325e
Posts: 5,747
Photos:
94BMW325i has much to be proud of94BMW325i has much to be proud of94BMW325i has much to be proud of94BMW325i has much to be proud of94BMW325i has much to be proud of94BMW325i has much to be proud of94BMW325i has much to be proud of94BMW325i has much to be proud of94BMW325i has much to be proud of94BMW325i has much to be proud of
Send a message via AIM to 94BMW325i Send a message via Yahoo to 94BMW325i
I just got my BMW so i'm not sure, but with other cars that my family owns when u disconnect the harnesses, etc. There is a reset button of some kind u have to hold down for around 10 seconds.
__________________


member and partial creator of pimpin the auto club
94BMW325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2004, 10:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Car:
Posts: 11
Photos:
TKMp3 is an unknown quantity at this point
So, any more ideas?
__________________
<img src='http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/10/web/406000-406999/406946_73.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Brembo Cross-Drilled Rotors
Dinan Performance Chip
DTM Style Ractive full catback exhaust
Bilstein Sport Shocks / Struts
Eibach Pro-Kit Lowering Springs 1.3&quot; drop
Stainless Steel Headers and Downpipes (In Progress)
Short Shifter (In Progress)
Black Pearl Paint Job
<a href='http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/406946' target='_blank'>etc...</a>
TKMp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2004, 02:53 AM   #12 (permalink)
JAX
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Denmark
Car:
Posts: 91
Photos:
JAX is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to JAX
Hehehe , had the same problem but when I pulled the plugs my windows were down and I could not get them up What sucks more with only 2-3 degrees outside.

I suggest re checking the plugs , maybe you got something switched.
Then push them one by one to be 100% sure they are plugged deep enough.

Then take the battery off for a few minutes and put it back on.
Try your windows , should work.
If not , I will guide you a bit more deep in the problem
__________________
--== 316i Cupe / 325TDS Engine ==-- <br> --------------183 HP----------- </br>-- == JAX the RiPPeR == --
JAX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2004, 01:25 AM   #13 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Car:
Posts: 11
Photos:
TKMp3 is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by JAX@Dec 15 2004, 02:53 AM
Hehehe , had the same problem but when I pulled the plugs my windows were down and I could not get them up What sucks more with only 2-3 degrees outside.
Yea, my windows were down, too... I had to get some speaker wire and connect the window motors directly to the battery to make them go back up. It sucked pretty bad, but now i can leave my car outside. I'll check out what you said tomorrow and let you know. Thanks.
__________________
<img src='http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/10/web/406000-406999/406946_73.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Brembo Cross-Drilled Rotors
Dinan Performance Chip
DTM Style Ractive full catback exhaust
Bilstein Sport Shocks / Struts
Eibach Pro-Kit Lowering Springs 1.3&quot; drop
Stainless Steel Headers and Downpipes (In Progress)
Short Shifter (In Progress)
Black Pearl Paint Job
<a href='http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/406946' target='_blank'>etc...</a>
TKMp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2004, 12:02 PM   #14 (permalink)
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
Car:
Posts: 1,169
Photos:
Autotechnica is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via ICQ to Autotechnica Send a message via MSN to Autotechnica
There a little black box that controls all the power windows, sunroofs, etc which is located under the glove box. You don't need to unplug that to install the alarm. Make sure you pluged that back in, otherwise that would definitely be the cause of your problem. I found this out when I was poking around for things to remove in my car and yanked that out. My power windows stopped working. I plugged it back in and it worked again.

That's all I can think of.

Also, if you aren't a professional, why would you install the alarm yourself? The whole point of an alarm is to prevent other people from breaking into the car. If you wire things yourself, how easy do you think it would be for a car theif to disable the alarm? Seriously, you have to make sure all the soldering is done properly, and all wires hidden and tucked away. Otherwise just yank on some wires and your alarm is disabled.

Don't mess with the BMW electrical system, if you screw things up, you'll have a huge headache figuring out what you've done wrong. Also, you might blow out a lot of expensive parts. Pay the $50-$100 to have it installed properly.

Bry
__________________
<u>1994 M-Technic M42 Saloon - Trillium Chapter - 5130</u>
Stock - 2866lbs Current - 2670lbs
<a href='http://www.geocities.com/mtechnik42' target='_blank'>- VIEW MY MODS AND PICS</a>
<a href='http://www.automobile-technik.com' target='_blank'>- PARTS FOR SALE</a>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/atta...tc=1&quot;&gt;
Autotechnica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2004, 02:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Car:
Posts: 83
Photos:
BMDub325is is an unknown quantity at this point
E36 BMWs are real easy to wire an alarm in. Most of the connections come off of the pre wired harness under the glove box. Then ignition and accessory come from under the stearing column. Finally you run the horn under the hood right by the + terminal (wires are easy to run through there). Then wallah a working alarm. I used directeds web site to find out which wires are which and where they are located.
__________________
92' 626 ES
88' Mazda Truck
92' VW passaat (sold)
93' BMW 325is
86' BMW 318is
<img src='http://www.geocities.com/bmdub325is/images/current/signaturefinal2.JPG' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
<a href='http://www.geocities.com/bmdub325is' target='_blank'>***MY E36 BUILDUP PAGE***</a>
BMDub325is is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical Problem With 2002 323i jisang1 3-Series (E46, E90) 4 02-01-2005 01:13 PM
Need The Experts-mysterious Electrical Problem??? JonnyM3 3-Series (E36) 6 12-06-2004 07:04 PM
strange electrical problem diadpaku 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 7 11-09-2004 06:19 PM
Electrical Problem? akrauss 3-Series (E46, E90) 14 08-11-2003 03:43 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.