Tachometer reading is off! - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 12-28-2006, 03:32 PM
4th Gear Member
 
bimmerguy82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: City of Rain, PNW
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to bimmerguy82
(Thread Starter)
Tachometer reading is off!

Ever since I replaced my instrument cluster because of a faulty temp gauge, my tach has been off. I first noticed this while driving on the highway, cause while in 4th gear (auto) at 70mph my tach was almost exactly 3k rpm.
Now I run about 4200 rpm at 70 mph. Also I went and had my car dynoed about 3 weeks ago and the computer was reading a 1500 rpm difference than my tach. anyone know what could have caused this? how to fix it?

BMWcrazy
___________
-Joshua



|AA stage 1 software| UUC light flywheel and clutch| UUC EVO 3 ssk | K&N Intake | Ebay Headers |

BMWCCA member#407674

Founding member of the hit 145 mph in my almost stock 325i BMW club.
bimmerguy82 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 12-28-2006, 06:30 PM
5th Gear Member
 
BMWJNKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to BMWJNKY Send a message via Yahoo to BMWJNKY
Did you put a used cluster in your car?
BMWJNKY is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 12-28-2006, 08:52 PM
Been here a while.
 
97alpineM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 5,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
97alpineM3 is a name known to all 97alpineM3 is a name known to all 97alpineM3 is a name known to all 97alpineM3 is a name known to all 97alpineM3 is a name known to all 97alpineM3 is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to 97alpineM3 Send a message via MSN to 97alpineM3
Sounds like a bad tach bro.... if you have the old one... put it back in... see if it works correctly for a day... if so... then you have a bad part.

Good Luck,

Les


1997 E36 M3 1990 E30 325i
97alpineM3 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 12-29-2006, 12:39 AM
4th Gear Member
 
bimmerguy82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: City of Rain, PNW
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to bimmerguy82
(Thread Starter)
Yes, it is a used tach, and no, i threw the original one out; because of the bad temp gauge. the thing is, i ordered another used cluster online and it did the same. so, i did not know if it was a coincidence or what. is there some other sender unit that the tach reads off of?

BMWcrazy
___________
-Joshua



|AA stage 1 software| UUC light flywheel and clutch| UUC EVO 3 ssk | K&N Intake | Ebay Headers |

BMWCCA member#407674

Founding member of the hit 145 mph in my almost stock 325i BMW club.
bimmerguy82 is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 12-29-2006, 11:03 AM
5th Gear Member
 
BMWJNKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to BMWJNKY Send a message via Yahoo to BMWJNKY
Tach gets its signal from the DME. The cluster could be incorrectly coded for you car. If your DME # is different than the one the cluster was originally coded for it could possibly be causing the problem. If you have tried 2 clusters and they had the exact same problem you may have to get a new cluster and get it properly coded to your car.
BMWJNKY is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 12-29-2006, 10:11 PM
4th Gear Member
 
bimmerguy82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: City of Rain, PNW
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to bimmerguy82
(Thread Starter)
thanks bmwjnky, i will look into that.

BMWcrazy
___________
-Joshua



|AA stage 1 software| UUC light flywheel and clutch| UUC EVO 3 ssk | K&N Intake | Ebay Headers |

BMWCCA member#407674

Founding member of the hit 145 mph in my almost stock 325i BMW club.
bimmerguy82 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outside temp reading jon1282 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 9 11-07-2006 02:52 AM
Temperature Reading afrochapin 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 2 04-12-2005 05:26 PM
Questions On Tachometer & Lcd caldoone 3-Series (E46, E90) 4 01-24-2005 06:18 PM
temperature sensor reading andy540i 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 7 04-19-2004 04:36 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome