Synthetic or regular oil? - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 07-13-2004, 02:05 PM
n00b

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
am4tide is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Unhappy

I just purchased a 1995 BMW 318i with approximately 76K miles. My mechanic is asking me to consider going with a synthetic oil. He is a very sound mechanic, and I trust his opinion highly, but I have no experiences with synthetic oils.

I am looking for second opinions here. How will the use of synthetic oil impact 1) engine wear and 2) gas mileage? He recommends changing the synthetic at 8,000 miles. Thanks in advance for any insight you can provide...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 07-13-2004, 02:06 PM
3rd Gear Member

Q_BMW is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Q_BMW Send a message via MSN to Q_BMW
i thought synthetic was only recommended for 6 cylinders...maybe i was wrong then...
Q

<span style='font-size:15pt;line-height:100%'><span style='color:red'>JUST SOLD:</span> <span style='color:blue'>01 BMW 330i with Sport &amp; M Package(5sp)</span></span>

<span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'><span style='color:blue'>Past:</span> <span style='color:red'>1996 BMW 328i</span></span>

<span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'><a href='http://www.ofoto.com/BrowsePhotos.jsp?&collid=10038932107&page=1&sort_o rder=0' target='_blank'>PICTURES!!</a></span>
#3 (permalink) Old 07-13-2004, 02:14 PM
3rd Gear Member

Bear is an unknown quantity at this point
I use synthetic in all of my cars (4and 12 cylinder), I change oil once a year and filter every 5,000 miles. I have 130,000 on my 1988 750 and she use no oil between changes.
#4 (permalink) Old 07-14-2004, 01:01 AM