Swap cluster US to CDN - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 10-30-2006, 04:22 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Jayman is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Swap cluster US to CDN

Hello everyone,
I am finally considering getting an E36 (1998 328i). It was sold as a US car but is now registered in Canada. The cluster shows miles in large numbers and kilometers in smaller numbers on the speedo. Is there a US to metric switch somewhere to change this over to kilometers?
Also looking on the auto trader and Ebay for pics I see Canadian cars have kilometer numbers only with no mile numbers at all.
Anyway if someone can give me options who may have done this before or knows how to would be great. I'm hoping to get away with changing just the sticker thing on the gauge that the numbers are printed on and to still have it give me accurate KPH.
Thanks all
Jayman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 10-30-2006, 05:25 AM
3rd Gear Member
 
WarNox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
WarNox is an unknown quantity at this point
do you use metrics in canada? i always thought it was the same as the US. if u do end up changing the "faceplate" in the cluster, won't your trip mileage thing still be in miles?!

<img src='http://www.geocities.com/thereisnothinglikeabmw/mycar1.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
WarNox is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 10-30-2006, 09:58 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Stratford, On
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
chuckz is on a distinguished road
yeah all canadian cars use kph instead of mph. everything is metric here yet
as a toolmaker, i use inches not centimeters.
getting an instrument cluster from a wrecker is probably going to be your
best bet, since changing your speedo painted numbers wont change your odometer.
good luck!
chuckz is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 10-30-2006, 12:41 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Jayman is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
I was under the impression that the dealer has a tool to change everything over from US to metric. If I put in a whole new cluster I was wondering if it will register correctly on the speedometer.
Jayman is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 10-30-2006, 04:20 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
WarNox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
WarNox is an unknown quantity at this point
no it wont register. there will be a red dot displayed by your odometer reading because your car computer and your cluster won't have the same mileage reading. i think you can get the dealer to fix this for you though.

<img src='http://www.geocities.com/thereisnothinglikeabmw/mycar1.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
WarNox is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 10-30-2006, 04:51 PM
I am Teh Edumacator.
 
Teh Prof's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ATL, London, and Barcelona
Posts: 4,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Teh Prof has much to be proud of Teh Prof has much to be proud of Teh Prof has much to be proud of Teh Prof has much to be proud of Teh Prof has much to be proud of Teh Prof has much to be proud of Teh Prof has much to be proud of Teh Prof has much to be proud of Teh Prof has much to be proud of Teh Prof has much to be proud of
Send a message via AIM to Teh Prof
My 1997 528i was originally a Canadian car and had the same cluster as when it was sold there--with mph in big numbers and kph in little ones.

You can just get a Canadian faceplate and swap it out. Hit a few buttons on the obc and everything will be displayed in metric, with no dealer input necessary.

Alternatively, get a Canadian cluster and have the dealer set the miles in the cluster to the same as the car's computer.



1999 E39 540i/6-VF Stage 1 S/C, Dinan exhaust, Dinan strut+shock braces, Dinan ltwt flywheel + clutch, Dinan Brembo BBK, Dinan monoball, H&R Springs, Koni Yellows, M5 sways, Dinan forged 18" wheels, &c.

1995 E38 740i. Highly modded. Faster than you.

Sold 2-28-07: 1997 E36 M3/4, 8-30-05 RIP 1997 528i


Lindsay fan club member.
Teh Prof is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 10-30-2006, 10:50 PM
1st Gear Member
 
polaris448's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
polaris448 is an unknown quantity at this point
i remeber reading a thread on changing the speedo to km. i am almost positive that your current cluster (odometer) will read in km even if you don't have an OBC. i remeber seeing the option when i went into the diagnostics on the cluster the test the guages and seeing other things like top revs. unfortunately i can't remeber where i got the diagnostics guide from...google it
polaris448 is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 10-30-2006, 11:36 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Jayman is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
I'll have a look, and thanks evryone.
Jayman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Instrument Cluster StokeM3Rep 3-Series (E36) 3 06-30-2006 01:58 PM
instrument cluster question funtoos 3-Series (E36) 5 06-02-2006 10:34 AM
Instrument Cluster Wiring spinkb 3-Series (E21, E30) 6 03-06-2005 09:39 AM
Instrument cluster removal shaman97 3-Series (E21, E30) 5 07-01-2004 04:13 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome