Steptronic Question - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 07-17-2004, 03:45 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
komodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
komodo is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
When in steptronic on an e36 1997 328i, after you hit the redline does it automatically shift for you? My friend in his e46 325i autoshifts at the redline, but I hit the redline in first gear and it didn't shift. I'm afraid to push it past the redline and mess up my transmission/engine without knowing for sure. Anyone?
komodo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 07-17-2004, 07:01 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BUSTaMOVE is an unknown quantity at this point
no it doesnt shift ive been past my redline before
BUSTaMOVE is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 07-17-2004, 08:58 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
komodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
komodo is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
So if I accidently hit the manual button while driving, it won't shift and could hurt my transmission? I've noticed some delay in shifting using steptronic, if I shift too late could it hurt something as well?
komodo is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 07-17-2004, 09:33 PM
4th Gear Member
 
BlantonG13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florence, NJ
Posts: 812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BlantonG13 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to BlantonG13
when driving, you will obviously notice if your Revs are entirely too high...prolonged redline is never a good thing, but you should notice it enough to shift in time. Steptronic is electronic "manual" shifting, its still gonna have a minor delay because circuits have to shoot around some electric signals all over some computers in the tranny to tell it to shift (hows that for a simple explanation?)...stupid slow electricity...10,000 MPH is too slow ghead

1996 318i
5 Speed Manual

Alpine CDA-7895 Head Unit
12" Alpine Type-R, sealed box
Pioneer 400w amp for $20 at a yard sale (to replace my fried MRV-1507)
Infinity Kappa 4" 2-way speakers(rear)
Infinity Kappa 5.25" component speakers(front)
Debaffled airbox, K&N filter
Tracked Mud on carpets
Shampooed and cleaned carpets
BlantonG13 is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 07-18-2004, 12:17 AM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
komodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
komodo is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
So what will happen if I drop it into first gear and go without shifting?
komodo is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 07-18-2004, 12:20 AM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Deloriant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Deloriant is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Deloriant
They have steptronic for e36's? Are you kidding? I thought it was a relatively new technology.

Speaking of trannys, you guys hear about Audi's Continuously Variable Transmission (CVT)? No gears...just 2 cones that the engine belts ride on. When you floor it, it pops to peak RPM for HP and torque and sits there all the way till the car tops out. Wouldn't sound too great, more like it's about to explode actually, but damn that's cool.

<img src='http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o17/M4yorThis/119575444991686.jpg'>
Deloriant is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 07-18-2004, 01:26 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
komodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
komodo is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Yeah, they definately have Steptronic for E36.
So basically if I put it in M mode, drop it into first, and floor it, I'll be shopping for another bimmer? =/
komodo is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 07-18-2004, 01:29 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BUSTaMOVE is an unknown quantity at this point
No , just make sure u shift into 2nd at 5 grand thats what i do , and my dads MINI has that CVT and its so weird ure always waiting for it to shift but it never does , and its so fun
BUSTaMOVE is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 07-18-2004, 01:31 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
komodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
komodo is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally posted by BUSTaMOVE@Jul 18 2004, 02:09 PM
No , just make sure u shift into 2nd at 5 grand thats what i do , and my dads MINI has that CVT and its so weird ure always waiting for it to shift but it never does , and its so fun
Yeah, but I'm asking about if I don't shift into second...
komodo is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 07-18-2004, 01:47 PM
4th Gear Member
 
BlantonG13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florence, NJ
Posts: 812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BlantonG13 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to BlantonG13
alright, to answer the man's question, don't try it...no need to. If it needs to go into second, then put it in second, don't risk screwing your tranny up=lots of money, especially for a steptronic...

1996 318i
5 Speed Manual

Alpine CDA-7895 Head Unit
12&quot; Alpine Type-R, sealed box
Pioneer 400w amp for $20 at a yard sale (to replace my fried MRV-1507)
Infinity Kappa 4&quot; 2-way speakers(rear)
Infinity Kappa 5.25&quot; component speakers(front)
Debaffled airbox, K&amp;N filter
Tracked Mud on carpets
Shampooed and cleaned carpets
BlantonG13 is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 07-18-2004, 01:47 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
Turbodefrost's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bellingham, Washington. USA
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Turbodefrost is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Turbodefrost
Then wouldn't you just hit the rev-limiter and stay there? That is until you blow something... Probably not something worth trying for too long.

Turbodefrost is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 07-18-2004, 01:57 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
komodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
komodo is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally posted by Turbodefrost@Jul 18 2004, 02:27 PM
Then wouldn't you just hit the rev-limiter and stay there? That is until you blow something... Probably not something worth trying for too long.
But also, I'm sharking my car on wednesday. That changes the rev-limiter doesn't it? So it would add further risks to steptronic
komodo is offline  
#13 (permalink) Old 07-18-2004, 02:11 PM
4th Gear Member
 
BlantonG13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florence, NJ
Posts: 812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BlantonG13 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to BlantonG13
Thats different though...the Revs will be able to reach higher as opposed to being limited to 7k rpms or whatever its at. Sharking technically raises the rev limiter so it won't blow if you hold it at that high RPMS. Its only supposed to give you higher rpms to broaden your powerband. It doesn't mean that you should hold the gas at those RPMs. You should definitely shift before or at redline no matter where it is set at...steptronic or not.


Maybe I am kinda lost on why you are asking this question. It kinda doesn't make sense to me used

1996 318i
5 Speed Manual

Alpine CDA-7895 Head Unit
12&quot; Alpine Type-R, sealed box
Pioneer 400w amp for $20 at a yard sale (to replace my fried MRV-1507)
Infinity Kappa 4&quot; 2-way speakers(rear)
Infinity Kappa 5.25&quot; component speakers(front)
Debaffled airbox, K&amp;N filter
Tracked Mud on carpets
Shampooed and cleaned carpets
BlantonG13 is offline  
#14 (permalink) Old 07-18-2004, 02:11 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
Turbodefrost's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bellingham, Washington. USA
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Turbodefrost is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Turbodefrost
Yeah so just don't try it. Beeeee smart.

Turbodefrost is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Steptronic Question chuck330 3-Series (E46, E90) 3 02-06-2005 09:41 PM
Steptronic Question Budask8r 3-Series (E46, E90) 7 07-16-2004 08:14 AM
info center in the gauge cluster question audiosolstice 1,6,7,8 - Series and Mini Cooper 3 04-30-2004 02:58 AM
330i ZHP with steptronic joeyg 3-Series (E46, E90) 9 04-16-2004 09:14 PM
Steptronic Clunk TUDM 3-Series (E46, E90) 3 12-15-2003 11:18 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome