Shifting techniques - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 09-09-2003, 09:57 PM
n00b

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
318i-Bmw is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Ok first off im really new to straight drive cars. I was just wondering why the car seems to jump(rock back and forth) when im power shifting from 1st to 2nd gear? I think it could be that im riding the clutch or not giving enough gas........ ne help wood be great thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 09-09-2003, 10:03 PM
3rd Gear Member

Scarface is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Scarface
I am no expert but it sounds like maybe your tires are spinning and switching back and forth if thats what you mean(car rocking side to side)

-1998 BMW 540i6(Axis Penta 20's,M5 shadow grilles,trunk lip,led tails,oem front lip,PIAA lighting)
-2002 Cadillac Escalade(Zinik Luina 22's,OEM HID upgrade)
#3 (permalink) Old 09-09-2003, 10:21 PM
5th Gear Member

the///man is an unknown quantity at this point
letting too much off the gas
#4 (permalink) Old 09-09-2003, 10:58 PM
n00b

sphereace2000 is an unknown quantity at this point
Thats pretty much normal to noobies driving sticks(no offense, just a dscription).
Try this, when you shift to second, slowly let go of the clutch while (slowly pressing the gas pedal) accelerating it. When I say slowly, its a lil bit faster than releasing it while your in first gear. Hope this helps.
#5 (permalink) Old 09-09-2003, 11:46 PM
Neutral Member

635csiluver is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to 635csiluver Send a message via MSN to 635csiluver
Quote:
Thats pretty much normal to noobies driving sticks(no offense, just a dscription).